Skip to content
Edge LabSign in
Icelantic

Freeride

Icelantic Pioneer 96 X 2026

Icelantic Pioneer 96 X 2026 top sheet, image © Icelantic
image © Icelantic
Category
Freeride
Profile
not stated
Lengths
166 · 174 · 182 · 188 cm
Tip / waist / tail
131 / 96 / 118 mm
Radius
17.0 m at 174 cm
Weight
not stated
Core
Birch and Poplar
Metal
not stated
Carbon
Full carbon
Sidewall
not stated
Base
not stated
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

  • 166 cm

    Tip (mm)
    131.0
    Waist (mm)
    96.0
    Tail (mm)
    118.0
    Radius (m)
    15.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    not published
  • 174 cm

    Tip (mm)
    131.0
    Waist (mm)
    96.0
    Tail (mm)
    118.0
    Radius (m)
    17.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    not published
  • 182 cm

    Tip (mm)
    131.0
    Waist (mm)
    96.0
    Tail (mm)
    118.0
    Radius (m)
    19.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    not published
  • 188 cm

    Tip (mm)
    131.0
    Waist (mm)
    96.0
    Tail (mm)
    118.0
    Radius (m)
    20.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    not published
Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
166 cm131.096.0118.015.0not published
174 cm131.096.0118.017.0not published
182 cm131.096.0118.019.0not published
188 cm131.096.0118.020.0not published
Icelantic Pioneer 96 X, top view, 174 cm: tip 131 mm, waist 96 mm, tail 118 mmTAIL 118 mmWAIST 96 mmTIP 131 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 17 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 14.7 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 12 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 98%, Holds well
  • Float: 61%, Some float
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 174 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Icelantic Pioneer 96 X at 174 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    14.7 / 12 / 8.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (68%)
    Float, powder
    Floats well (70%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    14.7 / 12 / 8.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (98%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (64%)
    Float, powder
    Some float (61%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    14.7 / 12 / 8.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (95%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (61%)
    Float, powder
    Some float (55%)
The Icelantic Pioneer 96 X at 174 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg14.7 / 12 / 8.5 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (68%)Floats well (70%)
90 kg14.7 / 12 / 8.5 mHolds well (98%)On the limit (64%)Some float (61%)
110 kg14.7 / 12 / 8.5 mHolds well (95%)On the limit (61%)Some float (55%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Icelantic Pioneer 96 X at 174 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 174 cm
  • First-timer: slides (18%)
  • Beginner: slides (40%)
  • Intermediate: on the limit (69%), assumed level
  • Advanced: holds well (93%)
  • Expert: holds well (98%)
assumed intermediate: on the limit (69%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: some float (47%)
  • Beginner: some float (50%)
  • Intermediate: some float (53%), assumed level
  • Advanced: some float (57%)
  • Expert: some float (61%)
assumed intermediate: some float (53%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: hard (0%)
  • Beginner: manageable (61%)
  • Intermediate: easy (100%), assumed level
  • Advanced: easy (100%)
  • Expert: easy (91%)
assumed intermediate: easy (100%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

  • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers176 of 739 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 14.7 m at 30° edge and 12 m at 45° (174 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Even its weakest part, float, is solid.
  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain278 of 739 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow293 of 739 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
      • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.

    It doesn’t suit

    It lands in the top half of the catalogue for all three skiers we check.

    What the model uses

    Physics inputs
    Flex underfoot180 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Camber height3.8 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tip rocker22.8 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tail rocker10.7 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tip rocker height15.7 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tail rocker height6.3 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Mount point offset-7.1 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

    Made of

    Construction
    CoreBirch and Poplar
    CarbonFull carbon
    Maker's descriptionThe Pioneer X features a 55° Carbon X Veil running from tip to tail, giving the Pioneer X additional torsional rigidity and liveliness when exploding in and out of turns. We added a Birch and Poplar wood core, creating a stiffer ski with more backbone— which goes a long way in reducing chatter and giving you the confidence to charge through any condition the mountain provides.

    Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

    What reviewers say

    No published reviews of this ski yet.

    Compare with…

    Where to buy

    No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

    Where these numbers come fromicelanticskis.com, edgelab.ski, read 11 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours

    Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.