Skip to content
Edge LabSign in
Armada

Freeride · Rocker, camber, rocker

Armada Locator 96 2026

Category
Freeride
Profile
Rocker, camber, rocker
Lengths
157 · 164 · 171 · 178 · 185 cm
Tip / waist / tail
127 / 96 / 117 mm
Radius
21.0 m at 178 cm
Weight
1,350 g per ski at 178 cm
Core
CARUBA CORE
Metal
not stated
Carbon
not stated
Sidewall
Hybrid
Base
COMP SERIES BASE
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

  • 157 cm

    Tip (mm)
    124.0
    Waist (mm)
    96.0
    Tail (mm)
    114.0
    Radius (m)
    18.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,125
  • 164 cm

    Tip (mm)
    125.0
    Waist (mm)
    96.0
    Tail (mm)
    115.0
    Radius (m)
    19.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,300
  • 171 cm

    Tip (mm)
    126.0
    Waist (mm)
    96.0
    Tail (mm)
    116.0
    Radius (m)
    20.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,325
  • 178 cm

    Tip (mm)
    127.0
    Waist (mm)
    96.0
    Tail (mm)
    117.0
    Radius (m)
    21.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,350
  • 185 cm

    Tip (mm)
    127.0
    Waist (mm)
    96.0
    Tail (mm)
    117.0
    Radius (m)
    22.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,475
Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
157 cm124.096.0114.018.01,125
164 cm125.096.0115.019.01,300
171 cm126.096.0116.020.01,325
178 cm127.096.0117.021.01,350
185 cm127.096.0117.022.01,475
Armada Locator 96, top view, 178 cm: tip 127 mm, waist 96 mm, tail 117 mmTAIL 117 mmWAIST 96 mmTIP 127 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 21 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 18.2 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 14.8 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 93%, Holds well
  • Float: 61%, Some float
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 178 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Armada Locator 96 at 178 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    18.2 / 14.8 / 10.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (96%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (64%)
    Float, powder
    Floats well (70%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    18.2 / 14.8 / 10.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (93%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (60%)
    Float, powder
    Some float (61%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    18.2 / 14.8 / 10.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (91%)
    Edge hold, ice
    Slides (57%)
    Float, powder
    Some float (55%)
The Armada Locator 96 at 178 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg18.2 / 14.8 / 10.5 mHolds well (96%)On the limit (64%)Floats well (70%)
90 kg18.2 / 14.8 / 10.5 mHolds well (93%)On the limit (60%)Some float (61%)
110 kg18.2 / 14.8 / 10.5 mHolds well (91%)Slides (57%)Some float (55%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Armada Locator 96 at 178 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 178 cm
  • First-timer: slides (17%)
  • Beginner: slides (38%)
  • Intermediate: on the limit (65%), assumed level
  • Advanced: holds well (88%)
  • Expert: holds well (93%)
assumed intermediate: on the limit (65%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: some float (47%)
  • Beginner: some float (50%)
  • Intermediate: some float (53%), assumed level
  • Advanced: some float (57%)
  • Expert: some float (61%)
assumed intermediate: some float (53%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: hard (14%)
  • Beginner: manageable (79%)
  • Intermediate: easy (100%), assumed level
  • Advanced: easy (96%)
  • Expert: easy (83%)
assumed intermediate: easy (100%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain198 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 18.2 m at 30° edge and 14.8 m at 45° (178 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Even its weakest part, float, is solid.
  • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow152 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Strongest here: turn shape. Weakest: float.

It doesn’t suit

  • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers476 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 18.2 m at 30° edge and 14.8 m at 45° (178 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Even its weakest part, turn shape, is solid.

What the model uses

Physics inputs
Flex underfoot171 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Camber height3.8 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tip rocker22.8 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tail rocker10.7 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tip rocker height15.7 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tail rocker height6.3 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Mount point offset-7.1 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

Made of

Construction
CoreCARUBA CORE
SidewallHybrid
BaseCOMP SERIES BASE
Maker's descriptionCaruba core with carbon reinforcement and AR75 sidewall

Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

What reviewers say

No published reviews of this ski yet.

Compare with…

Where to buy

No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

Where these numbers come fromarmadasnow.com, edgelab.ski, read 9 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours

Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.