All-mountain · Rocker, camber, rocker · Kids
Fat-ypus J.A.M. On 2026
- Category
- All-mountain
- Profile
- Rocker, camber, rocker
- Lengths
- 144 cm
- Tip / waist / tail
- 122 / 90 / 111 mm
- Radius
- 11.0 m at 144 cm
- Weight
- not stated
- Core
- vertical laminate poplar wood core
- Metal
- not stated
- Carbon
- not stated
- Sidewall
- not stated
- Base
- durasurf sintered base
- RRP
- No RRP published
- Intended ability
- not stated
Lengths and published dimensions
144 cm
- Tip (mm)
- 122.0
- Waist (mm)
- 90.0
- Tail (mm)
- 111.0
- Radius (m)
- 11.0
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
| Length | Tip (mm) | Waist (mm) | Tail (mm) | Radius (m) | Weight (g, per ski) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 144 cm | 122.0 | 90.0 | 111.0 | 11.0 | not published |
TAIL 111 mmWAIST 90 mmTIP 122 mm
“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.
What the model says
Carve radius, to scale
- Sidecut radius: 11 m
- Carve radius at 30° edge: 9.5 m
- Carve radius at 45° edge: 7.8 m
Edge hold and float
- Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
- Float: 46%, Some float
The Fat-ypus J.A.M. On at 144 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
70 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 9.5 / 7.8 / 5.5 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- Holds well (85%)
- Float, powder
- Some float (52%)
90 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 9.5 / 7.8 / 5.5 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (81%)
- Float, powder
- Some float (46%)
110 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 9.5 / 7.8 / 5.5 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (79%)
- Float, powder
- Sinks (41%)
| Skier | Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edge | Edge hold, groomed | Edge hold, ice | Float, powder |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 70 kg | 9.5 / 7.8 / 5.5 m | Holds well (100%) | Holds well (85%) | Some float (52%) |
| 90 kg | 9.5 / 7.8 / 5.5 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (81%) | Some float (46%) |
| 110 kg | 9.5 / 7.8 / 5.5 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (79%) | Sinks (41%) |
These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).
By ability
The Fat-ypus J.A.M. On at 144 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.
Edge hold
On firm snow, 144 cm- First-timer: slides (19%)
- Beginner: slides (41%)
- Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
- Advanced: holds well (95%)
- Expert: holds well (100%)
Float
In soft snow- First-timer: sinks (35%)
- Beginner: sinks (38%)
- Intermediate: sinks (40%), assumed level
- Advanced: sinks (43%)
- Expert: some float (46%)
Ease
How forgiving it is- First-timer: hard (0%)
- Beginner: hard (0%)
- Intermediate: hard (7%), assumed level
- Advanced: manageable (64%)
- Expert: easy (89%)
Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.
Who it suits
It suits
None of the three skiers we check puts it in the top half of the catalogue.
It doesn’t suit
- 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers703 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Carve radius about 9.5 m at 30° edge and 7.8 m at 45° (144 cm)
- Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
- 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain630 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow621 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
What the model uses
| Flex underfoot | 187 N·m²est. Flex underfoot Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Camber height | 4.4 mmest. Camber height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker | 20.4 % of lengthest. Tip rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker | 7.5 % of lengthest. Tail rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker height | 12.5 mmest. Tip rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker height | 3.5 mmest. Tail rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Mount point offset | -7.9 cmest. Mount point offset Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
Made of
| Core | vertical laminate poplar wood core |
|---|---|
| Base | durasurf sintered base |
| Maker's description | Ingredients: rockwell 48 steel edges, vertical laminate poplar wood core, durasurf sintered base, die-cut graphics |
Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.
What reviewers say
No reviews indexed yet for this ski. We read Realskiers (opens in a new tab), Ski Canada Magazine (opens in a new tab) and SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab); check their sites directly.
Compare with…
- Fat-ypus J.A.M. On vs Atomic Backland 89 SL (side by side for your setup)
- Fat-ypus J.A.M. On vs Atomic Bent 90 (side by side for your setup)
- Fat-ypus J.A.M. On vs Black Crows Captis (side by side for your setup)
Get more help
Before you buy
Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.
- ReviewsReviews from Realskiers, Ski Canada Magazine, SkiEssentialsWe hold no review of this ski yet. Full reviews are with the publications:
- ProductComingWhere to buyNo shops linked yet. We list shops once they send us stock and prices.
- CompareEdge Lab toolCompare with Atomic Backland 89 SLSide by side in the Lab: same skier, same snow.
Where to buy
No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.
Where these numbers come fromfat-ypus.com, edgelab.ski, read 15 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours
- JAM Kid's Ski - Fat-ypus skis (read 15 Oct 2026)
- Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. “from” marks a number the maker does not publish that another source does (a retailer, or an earlier season of the same ski).