Skip to content
Edge LabSign in
Atomic

All-mountain · Tip rocker

Atomic Backland 89 SL

Atomic Backland 89 SL top sheet, image © Atomic
image © Atomic
Category
All-mountain
Profile
Tip rocker
Lengths
155 · 162 · 169 · 176 · 183 cm
Tip / waist / tail
124 / 90 / 112 mm
Radius
17.4 m at 176 cm
Weight
1,220 g per ski at 176 cm
Core
poplar and caruba
Metal
not stated
Carbon
Stringers
Sidewall
not stated
Base
not stated
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

  • 155 cm

    Tip (mm)
    119.0
    Waist (mm)
    88.5
    Tail (mm)
    107.0
    Radius (m)
    14.4
    Weight (g, per ski)
    not published
  • 162 cm

    Tip (mm)
    120.0
    Waist (mm)
    89.0
    Tail (mm)
    108.5
    Radius (m)
    15.4
    Weight (g, per ski)
    not published
  • 169 cm

    Tip (mm)
    122.0
    Waist (mm)
    89.5
    Tail (mm)
    110.5
    Radius (m)
    16.4
    Weight (g, per ski)
    not published
  • 176 cm

    Tip (mm)
    124.0
    Waist (mm)
    90.0
    Tail (mm)
    112.0
    Radius (m)
    17.4
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,220
  • 183 cm

    Tip (mm)
    125.0
    Waist (mm)
    90.5
    Tail (mm)
    113.5
    Radius (m)
    18.4
    Weight (g, per ski)
    not published
Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
155 cm119.088.5107.014.4not published
162 cm120.089.0108.515.4not published
169 cm122.089.5110.516.4not published
176 cm124.090.0112.017.41,220
183 cm125.090.5113.518.4not published
Atomic Backland 89 SL, top view, 176 cm: tip 124 mm, waist 90 mm, tail 112 mmTAIL 112 mmWAIST 90 mmTIP 124 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 17.4 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 15.1 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 12.3 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
  • Float: 46%, Some float
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 176 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Atomic Backland 89 SL at 176 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    15.1 / 12.3 / 8.7 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (65%)
    Float, powder
    Some float (52%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    15.1 / 12.3 / 8.7 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (62%)
    Float, powder
    Some float (46%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    15.1 / 12.3 / 8.7 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (98%)
    Edge hold, ice
    Slides (59%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (41%)
The Atomic Backland 89 SL at 176 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg15.1 / 12.3 / 8.7 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (65%)Some float (52%)
90 kg15.1 / 12.3 / 8.7 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (62%)Some float (46%)
110 kg15.1 / 12.3 / 8.7 mHolds well (98%)Slides (59%)Sinks (41%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Atomic Backland 89 SL at 176 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 176 cm
  • First-timer: slides (19%)
  • Beginner: slides (41%)
  • Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
  • Advanced: holds well (95%)
  • Expert: holds well (100%)
assumed intermediate: on the limit (70%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: sinks (35%)
  • Beginner: sinks (38%)
  • Intermediate: sinks (40%), assumed level
  • Advanced: sinks (43%)
  • Expert: some float (46%)
assumed intermediate: sinks (40%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: hard (0%)
  • Beginner: manageable (59%)
  • Intermediate: easy (100%), assumed level
  • Advanced: easy (100%)
  • Expert: easy (92%)
assumed intermediate: easy (100%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain253 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 15.1 m at 30° edge and 12.3 m at 45° (176 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.

It doesn’t suit

  • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers281 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 15.1 m at 30° edge and 12.3 m at 45° (176 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
  • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow276 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.

    What the model uses

    Physics inputs
    Flex underfoot189 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Camber height4.5 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tip rocker20.2 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tail rocker7.3 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tip rocker height12.3 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tail rocker height3.2 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Mount point offset-7.9 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

    Made of

    Construction
    Corepoplar and caruba
    CarbonCarbon stringers
    Maker's descriptionUltra Light Woodcore (poplar and caruba) with Carbon Backbone and Fiberglass

    Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

    What reviewers say

    No published reviews of this ski yet.

    Compare with…

    Where to buy

    No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

    Where these numbers come fromatomic.com, edgelab.ski, read 9 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours

    Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.