Skip to content
Edge LabSign in

Heritage Lab Swallowtail 120 2025

Impression, not the real top sheet.
Category
Powder
Profile
not stated
Lengths
193 · 186 cm
Tip / waist / tail
146 / 120 / 139 mm
Radius
24.0 m at 186 cm
Weight
not stated
Core
Bamboo / Poplar wood core
Metal
not stated
Carbon
not stated
Sidewall
not stated
Base
Extra hard and fast black race base
RRP
No RRP published
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
193 cm146.0120.0139.027.0not published
186 cm146.0120.0139.024.0not published
Heritage Lab Swallowtail 120, top view, 186 cm: tip 146 mm, waist 120 mm, tail 139 mmTAIL 139 mmWAIST 120 mmTIP 146 mm

TAIL 139 mmWAIST 120 mmTIP 146 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 24 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 20.8 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 17 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 65%, On the limit
  • Float: 100%, Floats well
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 186 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Heritage Lab Swallowtail 120 at 186 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    20.8 / 17 / 12 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    On the limit (68%)
    Edge hold, ice
    Slides (39%)
    Float, powder
    Floats well (100%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    20.8 / 17 / 12 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    On the limit (65%)
    Edge hold, ice
    Slides (36%)
    Float, powder
    Floats well (100%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    20.8 / 17 / 12 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    On the limit (63%)
    Edge hold, ice
    Slides (33%)
    Float, powder
    Floats well (100%)
The Heritage Lab Swallowtail 120 at 186 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg20.8 / 17 / 12 mOn the limit (68%)Slides (39%)Floats well (100%)
90 kg20.8 / 17 / 12 mOn the limit (65%)Slides (36%)Floats well (100%)
110 kg20.8 / 17 / 12 mOn the limit (63%)Slides (33%)Floats well (100%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Heritage Lab Swallowtail 120 at 186 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 186 cm
  • First-timer: slides (12%)
  • Beginner: slides (26%)
  • Intermediate: slides (46%), assumed level
  • Advanced: on the limit (62%)
  • Expert: on the limit (65%)
assumed intermediate: slides (46%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: floats well (77%)
  • Beginner: floats well (82%)
  • Intermediate: floats well (86%), assumed level
  • Advanced: floats well (93%)
  • Expert: floats well (100%)
assumed intermediate: floats well (86%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: easy (99%)
  • Beginner: easy (100%)
  • Intermediate: easy (81%), assumed level
  • Advanced: manageable (64%)
  • Expert: manageable (57%)
assumed intermediate: easy (81%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain216 of 1040 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 20.8 m at 30° edge and 17 m at 45° (186 cm)
    • Strongest here: float. Even its weakest part, edge hold, is solid.
  • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow45 of 1040 skis in the catalogue for this skier.

    It doesn’t suit

    • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers1006 of 1040 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
      • Carve radius about 20.8 m at 30° edge and 17 m at 45° (186 cm)
      • Strongest here: float. Weakest: turn shape.

    What the model uses

    Physics inputs
    Flex underfoot115 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Camber height0.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tip rocker38.0 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tail rocker30.0 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tip rocker height32.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tail rocker height18.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Mount point offset-4.0 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

    Made of

    Construction
    CoreBamboo / Poplar wood core
    BaseExtra hard and fast black race base
    Maker's description7cm tip height and 4cm tail height for a super neutral and engaged overall ride Bomber UHMW sidewalls that will take a licking and keep on ticking Metal inset swallowtail for ultimate durability on tram decks and heli baskets HL's ultra-smooth fiberglass layup, full-width VDS Rubber, and Bamboo / Poplar wood core Extra hard and fast black race base

    Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

    What reviewers say

    No reviews indexed yet for this ski. We read Realskiers (opens in a new tab), Ski Canada Magazine (opens in a new tab) and SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab); check their sites directly.

    Compare with…

    Which second ski pairs with this?

    Get more help

    Before you buy

    Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.

    Where to buy

    No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

    Where these numbers come fromheritagelabskis.com, edgelab.ski, read 15 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours

    Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. “from” marks a number the maker does not publish that another source does (a retailer, or an earlier season of the same ski).