Freeride · Rocker, camber, rocker
Fat-ypus B.U. 2026
- Category
- Freeride
- Profile
- Rocker, camber, rocker
- Lengths
- 170 · 175 · 182 cm
- Tip / waist / tail
- 118 / 104 / 111 mm
- Radius
- 12.5 m at 175 cm
- Weight
- not stated
- Core
- vertical laminate poplar wood core
- Metal
- not stated
- Carbon
- not stated
- Sidewall
- not stated
- Base
- durasurf sintered base
- RRP
- No RRP published
- Intended ability
- not stated
Lengths and published dimensions
170 cm
- Tip (mm)
- 116.0
- Waist (mm)
- 102.0
- Tail (mm)
- 111.0
- Radius (m)
- 11.9
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
175 cm
- Tip (mm)
- 118.0
- Waist (mm)
- 104.0
- Tail (mm)
- 111.0
- Radius (m)
- 12.5
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
182 cm
- Tip (mm)
- 118.0
- Waist (mm)
- 104.0
- Tail (mm)
- 111.0
- Radius (m)
- 14.0
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
| Length | Tip (mm) | Waist (mm) | Tail (mm) | Radius (m) | Weight (g, per ski) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 170 cm | 116.0 | 102.0 | 111.0 | 11.9 | not published |
| 175 cm | 118.0 | 104.0 | 111.0 | 12.5 | not published |
| 182 cm | 118.0 | 104.0 | 111.0 | 14.0 | not published |
TAIL 111 mmWAIST 104 mmTIP 118 mm
“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.
What the model says
Carve radius, to scale
- Sidecut radius: 12.5 m
- Carve radius at 30° edge: 10.8 m
- Carve radius at 45° edge: 8.8 m
Edge hold and float
- Edge hold: 97%, Holds well
- Float: 81%, Floats well
The Fat-ypus B.U. at 175 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
70 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 10.8 / 8.8 / 6.3 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (67%)
- Float, powder
- Floats well (89%)
90 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 10.8 / 8.8 / 6.3 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (97%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (63%)
- Float, powder
- Floats well (81%)
110 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 10.8 / 8.8 / 6.3 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (94%)
- Edge hold, ice
- Slides (59%)
- Float, powder
- Floats well (72%)
| Skier | Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edge | Edge hold, groomed | Edge hold, ice | Float, powder |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 70 kg | 10.8 / 8.8 / 6.3 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (67%) | Floats well (89%) |
| 90 kg | 10.8 / 8.8 / 6.3 m | Holds well (97%) | On the limit (63%) | Floats well (81%) |
| 110 kg | 10.8 / 8.8 / 6.3 m | Holds well (94%) | Slides (59%) | Floats well (72%) |
These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).
By ability
The Fat-ypus B.U. at 175 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.
Edge hold
On firm snow, 175 cm- First-timer: slides (18%)
- Beginner: slides (39%)
- Intermediate: on the limit (68%), assumed level
- Advanced: holds well (92%)
- Expert: holds well (97%)
Float
In soft snow- First-timer: some float (62%)
- Beginner: some float (66%)
- Intermediate: floats well (70%), assumed level
- Advanced: floats well (75%)
- Expert: floats well (81%)
Ease
How forgiving it is- First-timer: hard (30%)
- Beginner: easy (90%)
- Intermediate: easy (100%), assumed level
- Advanced: easy (90%)
- Expert: manageable (78%)
Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.
Who it suits
It suits
- 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers312 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Carve radius about 10.3 m at 30° edge and 8.4 m at 45° (170 cm)
- Strongest here: edge hold. Even its weakest part, turn shape, is solid.
- 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain223 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Carve radius about 12.1 m at 30° edge and 9.9 m at 45° (182 cm)
- 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow264 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
It doesn’t suit
It lands in the top half of the catalogue for all three skiers we check.
What the model uses
| Flex underfoot | 150 N·m²est. Flex underfoot Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Camber height | 3.0 mmest. Camber height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker | 26.0 % of lengthest. Tip rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker | 15.0 % of lengthest. Tail rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker height | 20.0 mmest. Tip rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker height | 10.0 mmest. Tail rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Mount point offset | -6.0 cmest. Mount point offset Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
Made of
| Core | vertical laminate poplar wood core |
|---|---|
| Base | durasurf sintered base |
| Maker's description | Ingredients: rockwell 48 steel edges, p-tex sidewall, vertical laminate poplar wood core, durasurf sintered base, die-cut graphics |
Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.
What reviewers say
No reviews indexed yet for this ski. We read Realskiers (opens in a new tab), Ski Canada Magazine (opens in a new tab) and SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab); check their sites directly.
Compare with…
- Fat-ypus B.U. vs Armada LOCATOR 104 (side by side for your setup)
- Fat-ypus B.U. vs Atomic Maven 103 CTI (side by side for your setup)
- Fat-ypus B.U. vs Atomic Maverick 105 CTI (side by side for your setup)
Get more help
Before you buy
Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.
- ReviewsReviews from Realskiers, Ski Canada Magazine, SkiEssentialsWe hold no review of this ski yet. Full reviews are with the publications:
- ProductComingWhere to buyNo shops linked yet. We list shops once they send us stock and prices.
- CompareEdge Lab toolCompare with Armada LOCATOR 104Side by side in the Lab: same skier, same snow.
Where to buy
No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.
Where these numbers come fromfat-ypus.com, edgelab.ski, read 15 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours
- BU All Mountain 5 Point Ski (read 15 Oct 2026)
- Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. “from” marks a number the maker does not publish that another source does (a retailer, or an earlier season of the same ski).