Skip to content
Edge LabSign in
Faction

Carving · Rocker, camber, rocker

Faction Dancer 79 TI 2027

Faction Dancer 79 TI 2027 top sheet, image © Faction
image © Faction
Category
Carving
Profile
Rocker, camber, rocker
Lengths
152 · 158 · 166 · 172 · 178 · 184 cm
Tip / waist / tail
118 / 79 / 107 mm
Radius
16.0 m at 172 cm
Weight
1,600 g per ski at 172 cm
Core
Poplar
Metal
not stated
Carbon
not stated
Sidewall
not stated
Base
Sintered Base
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

  • 152 cm

    Tip (mm)
    118.0
    Waist (mm)
    79.0
    Tail (mm)
    107.0
    Radius (m)
    12.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,330
  • 158 cm

    Tip (mm)
    118.0
    Waist (mm)
    79.0
    Tail (mm)
    107.0
    Radius (m)
    13.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,420
  • 166 cm

    Tip (mm)
    118.0
    Waist (mm)
    79.0
    Tail (mm)
    107.0
    Radius (m)
    14.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,530
  • 172 cm

    Tip (mm)
    118.0
    Waist (mm)
    79.0
    Tail (mm)
    107.0
    Radius (m)
    16.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,600
  • 178 cm

    Tip (mm)
    118.0
    Waist (mm)
    79.0
    Tail (mm)
    107.0
    Radius (m)
    17.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,700
  • 184 cm

    Tip (mm)
    118.0
    Waist (mm)
    79.0
    Tail (mm)
    107.0
    Radius (m)
    18.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,800
Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
152 cm118.079.0107.012.01,330
158 cm118.079.0107.013.01,420
166 cm118.079.0107.014.01,530
172 cm118.079.0107.016.01,600
178 cm118.079.0107.017.01,700
184 cm118.079.0107.018.01,800
Faction Dancer 79 TI, top view, 172 cm: tip 118 mm, waist 79 mm, tail 107 mmTAIL 107 mmWAIST 79 mmTIP 118 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 16 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 13.9 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 11.3 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
  • Float: 21%, Sinks
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 172 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Faction Dancer 79 TI at 172 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    13.9 / 11.3 / 8 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (71%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (22%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    13.9 / 11.3 / 8 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (68%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (21%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    13.9 / 11.3 / 8 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (65%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (19%)
The Faction Dancer 79 TI at 172 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg13.9 / 11.3 / 8 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (71%)Sinks (22%)
90 kg13.9 / 11.3 / 8 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (68%)Sinks (21%)
110 kg13.9 / 11.3 / 8 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (65%)Sinks (19%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Faction Dancer 79 TI at 172 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 172 cm
  • First-timer: slides (19%)
  • Beginner: slides (41%)
  • Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
  • Advanced: holds well (95%)
  • Expert: holds well (100%)
assumed intermediate: on the limit (70%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: sinks (16%)
  • Beginner: sinks (17%)
  • Intermediate: sinks (18%), assumed level
  • Advanced: sinks (20%)
  • Expert: sinks (21%)
assumed intermediate: sinks (18%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: hard (0%)
  • Beginner: hard (25%)
  • Intermediate: manageable (78%), assumed level
  • Advanced: easy (100%)
  • Expert: easy (100%)
assumed intermediate: manageable (78%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

  • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers229 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 13.9 m at 30° edge and 11.3 m at 45° (172 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.

It doesn’t suit

  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain413 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 13.9 m at 30° edge and 11.3 m at 45° (172 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
  • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow421 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.

    What the model uses

    Physics inputs
    Flex underfoot214 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Camber height6.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tip rocker15.3 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tail rocker6.4 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tip rocker height7.3 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tail rocker height1.2 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Mount point offset-7.4 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

    Made of

    Construction
    CorePoplar
    BaseSintered Base
    Maker's descriptionLightweight Poplar & Fiberglass Core with Dual Span Titanal

    Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

    What reviewers say

    No published reviews of this ski yet.

    Compare with…

    Where to buy

    No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

    Where these numbers come fromfactionskis.com, edgelab.ski, read 9 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours

    Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.