Skip to content
Edge LabSign in
Dynafit

Freeride · Rocker, camber, rocker

Dynafit Radical 97

Impression, not the real top sheet.
Category
Freeride
Profile
Rocker, camber, rocker
Lengths
170 · 177 · 184 cm
Tip / waist / tail
126 / 97 / 116 mm
Radius
19.0 m at 177 cm
Weight
1,550 g per ski at 177 cm
Core
Poplar Core
Metal
not stated
Carbon
Stringers
Sidewall
not stated
Base
not stated
RRP
No RRP published
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
170 cm124.096.0114.018.01,450
177 cm126.097.0116.019.01,550
184 cm128.098.0118.020.01,670
Dynafit Radical 97, top view, 177 cm: tip 126 mm, waist 97 mm, tail 116 mmTAIL 116 mmWAIST 97 mmTIP 126 mm

TAIL 116 mmWAIST 97 mmTIP 126 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 19 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 16.5 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 13.4 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 93%, Holds well
  • Float: 63%, Some float
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 177 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Dynafit Radical 97 at 177 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    16.5 / 13.4 / 9.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (97%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (65%)
    Float, powder
    Floats well (73%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    16.5 / 13.4 / 9.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (93%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (61%)
    Float, powder
    Some float (63%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    16.5 / 13.4 / 9.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (91%)
    Edge hold, ice
    Slides (58%)
    Float, powder
    Some float (57%)
The Dynafit Radical 97 at 177 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg16.5 / 13.4 / 9.5 mHolds well (97%)On the limit (65%)Floats well (73%)
90 kg16.5 / 13.4 / 9.5 mHolds well (93%)On the limit (61%)Some float (63%)
110 kg16.5 / 13.4 / 9.5 mHolds well (91%)Slides (58%)Some float (57%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Dynafit Radical 97 at 177 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 177 cm
  • First-timer: slides (17%)
  • Beginner: slides (38%)
  • Intermediate: on the limit (65%), assumed level
  • Advanced: holds well (88%)
  • Expert: holds well (93%)
assumed intermediate: on the limit (65%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: some float (48%)
  • Beginner: some float (51%)
  • Intermediate: some float (54%), assumed level
  • Advanced: some float (59%)
  • Expert: some float (63%)
assumed intermediate: some float (54%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: hard (13%)
  • Beginner: manageable (79%)
  • Intermediate: easy (100%), assumed level
  • Advanced: easy (96%)
  • Expert: easy (84%)
assumed intermediate: easy (100%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

  • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers411 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 15.6 m at 30° edge and 12.7 m at 45° (170 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Even its weakest part, float, is solid.
  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain298 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 16.5 m at 30° edge and 13.4 m at 45° (177 cm)
    • Strongest here: turn shape. Even its weakest part, float, is solid.
  • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow336 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 17.3 m at 30° edge and 14.1 m at 45° (184 cm)
    • Strongest here: turn shape. Weakest: float.

It doesn’t suit

It lands in the top half of the catalogue for all three skiers we check.

What the model uses

Physics inputs
Flex underfoot169 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Camber height3.7 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tip rocker23.2 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tail rocker11.3 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tip rocker height16.3 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tail rocker height6.7 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Mount point offset-6.9 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

Made of

Construction
CorePoplar Core
CarbonCarbon stringers
Maker's description100% poplar wood core combined with our DYNAFIT Carbon Speed stringers that allow a fast setback of the ski, modern new sidecut, a very balanced flex, and a newly developed tip and tail rocker. Radical 97 – for energy-saving climbs and strong downhill performance.

Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

What reviewers say

No reviews indexed yet for this ski. We read Realskiers (opens in a new tab), Ski Canada Magazine (opens in a new tab) and SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab); check their sites directly.

Compare with…

Which second ski pairs with this?

Get more help

Before you buy

Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.

Where to buy

No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

Where these numbers come fromdynafit.com, edgelab.ski, read 15 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours

Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. “from” marks a number the maker does not publish that another source does (a retailer, or an earlier season of the same ski).