Skip to content
Edge LabSign in
Atomic

Carving · Tip rocker

Atomic Backland 80 UL

Atomic Backland 80 UL top sheet, image © Atomic
image © Atomic
Category
Carving
Profile
Tip rocker
Lengths
156 · 163 · 170 · 177 cm
Tip / waist / tail
113 / 79 / 102 mm
Radius
19.5 m at 177 cm
Weight
not stated
Core
poplar and caruba
Metal
not stated
Carbon
Stringers
Sidewall
not stated
Base
not stated
RRP
US$850 (US brand site, read 14 Oct)
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

  • 156 cm

    Tip (mm)
    110.0
    Waist (mm)
    79.0
    Tail (mm)
    99.0
    Radius (m)
    13.6
    Weight (g, per ski)
    not published
  • 163 cm

    Tip (mm)
    111.0
    Waist (mm)
    79.0
    Tail (mm)
    100.0
    Radius (m)
    15.5
    Weight (g, per ski)
    870
  • 170 cm

    Tip (mm)
    112.0
    Waist (mm)
    79.0
    Tail (mm)
    101.0
    Radius (m)
    17.5
    Weight (g, per ski)
    not published
  • 177 cm

    Tip (mm)
    113.0
    Waist (mm)
    79.0
    Tail (mm)
    102.0
    Radius (m)
    19.5
    Weight (g, per ski)
    not published
Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
156 cm110.079.099.013.6not published
163 cm111.079.0100.015.5870
170 cm112.079.0101.017.5not published
177 cm113.079.0102.019.5not published
Atomic Backland 80 UL, top view, 177 cm: tip 113 mm, waist 79 mm, tail 102 mmTAIL 102 mmWAIST 79 mmTIP 113 mm

TAIL 102 mmWAIST 79 mmTIP 113 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 19.5 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 16.9 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 13.8 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
  • Float: 21%, Sinks
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 177 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Atomic Backland 80 UL at 177 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    16.9 / 13.8 / 9.8 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (68%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (22%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    16.9 / 13.8 / 9.8 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (65%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (21%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    16.9 / 13.8 / 9.8 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (62%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (19%)
The Atomic Backland 80 UL at 177 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg16.9 / 13.8 / 9.8 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (68%)Sinks (22%)
90 kg16.9 / 13.8 / 9.8 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (65%)Sinks (21%)
110 kg16.9 / 13.8 / 9.8 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (62%)Sinks (19%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Atomic Backland 80 UL at 177 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 177 cm
  • First-timer: slides (19%)
  • Beginner: slides (41%)
  • Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
  • Advanced: holds well (95%)
  • Expert: holds well (100%)
assumed intermediate: on the limit (70%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: sinks (16%)
  • Beginner: sinks (17%)
  • Intermediate: sinks (18%), assumed level
  • Advanced: sinks (20%)
  • Expert: sinks (21%)
assumed intermediate: sinks (18%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: hard (0%)
  • Beginner: hard (41%)
  • Intermediate: easy (89%), assumed level
  • Advanced: easy (100%)
  • Expert: easy (100%)
assumed intermediate: easy (89%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

None of the three skiers we check puts it in the top half of the catalogue.

It doesn’t suit

  • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers572 of 858 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 15.2 m at 30° edge and 12.4 m at 45° (170 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain599 of 858 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 16.9 m at 30° edge and 13.8 m at 45° (177 cm)
  • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow605 of 858 skis in the catalogue for this skier.

    What the model uses

    Physics inputs
    Flex underfoot214 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Camber height6.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tip rocker15.3 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tail rocker6.4 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tip rocker height7.3 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tail rocker height1.2 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Mount point offset-7.4 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

    Made of

    Construction
    Corepoplar and caruba
    CarbonCarbon stringers
    Maker's descriptionUltra Light Woodcore (poplar and caruba) with Carbon Backbone and Carbon Fiberglass layers

    Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

    What reviewers say

    No reviews indexed yet for this ski. We read Realskiers (opens in a new tab), Ski Canada Magazine (opens in a new tab) and SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab); check their sites directly.

    Compare with…

    Which second ski pairs with this?

    Get more help

    Before you buy

    Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.

    Where to buy

    No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

    Where these numbers come fromatomic.com, edgelab.ski, read 14 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours

    Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.