Freeride
Zai Laisa
- Category
- Freeride
- Profile
- not stated
- Lengths
- 188 cm
- Tip / waist / tail
- 129/ 99
Tip width
Source: zai Laisa - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
/ 116Waist width
Source: zai Laisa - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
mmTail width
Source: zai Laisa - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
- Radius
- 20.0 mat 188 cm
Sidecut radius
Source: zai Laisa - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
- Weight
- 1,800 gper ski at 188 cm
Weight
Source: zai Laisa - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
- Core
- ultra-light cedar wood/ glued strips / knot-free
Core
Source: zai Laisa - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
- Metal
- not stated
- Carbon
- not stated
- Sidewall
- not stated
- Base
- Nano-highspeed racing base, HRC 38 steel edges
Base
Source: zai Laisa - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
- RRP
- No RRP published
- Intended ability
- not stated
Lengths and published dimensions
188 cm
188 cm
Source: zai Laisa - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
All as the maker publishes them.
- Tip (mm)
- 129.0
- Waist (mm)
- 99.0
- Tail (mm)
- 116.0
- Radius (m)
- 20.0
multi-radius: 17.5 m / 20 m / 17.5 m
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 1,800
| Length | Tip (mm) | Waist (mm) | Tail (mm) | Radius (m) | Weight (g, per ski) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 188 cm 188 cm Source: zai Laisa - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer Read: 15 Oct 2026 All as the maker publishes them. | 129.0 | 99.0 | 116.0 | 20.0 multi-radius: 17.5 m / 20 m / 17.5 m | 1,800 |
TAIL 116 mmWAIST 99 mmTIP 129 mm
“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.
What the model says
Carve radius, to scale
- Sidecut radius: 20 m
- Carve radius at 30° edge: 17.3 m
- Carve radius at 45° edge: 14.1 m
Edge hold and float
- Edge hold: 91%, Holds well
- Float: 68%, Some float
The Zai Laisa at 188 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
70 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 17.3 / 14.1 / 10 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (95%)
- Edge hold, ice
- Slides (59%)
- Float, powder
- Floats well (79%)
90 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 17.3 / 14.1 / 10 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (91%)
- Edge hold, ice
- Slides (54%)
- Float, powder
- Some float (68%)
110 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 17.3 / 14.1 / 10 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (89%)
- Edge hold, ice
- Slides (51%)
- Float, powder
- Some float (61%)
| Skier | Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edge | Edge hold, groomed | Edge hold, ice | Float, powder |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 70 kg | 17.3 / 14.1 / 10 m | Holds well (95%) | Slides (59%) | Floats well (79%) |
| 90 kg | 17.3 / 14.1 / 10 m | Holds well (91%) | Slides (54%) | Some float (68%) |
| 110 kg | 17.3 / 14.1 / 10 m | Holds well (89%) | Slides (51%) | Some float (61%) |
These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).
By ability
The Zai Laisa at 188 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.
Edge hold
On firm snow, 188 cm- First-timer: slides (17%)
- Beginner: slides (37%)
- Intermediate: on the limit (64%), assumed level
- Advanced: holds well (86%)
- Expert: holds well (91%)
Float
In soft snow- First-timer: some float (52%)
- Beginner: some float (55%)
- Intermediate: some float (59%), assumed level
- Advanced: some float (63%)
- Expert: some float (68%)
Ease
How forgiving it is- First-timer: manageable (53%)
- Beginner: easy (100%)
- Intermediate: easy (100%), assumed level
- Advanced: easy (81%)
- Expert: manageable (71%)
Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.
Who it suits
It suits
- 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain284 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Carve radius about 17.3 m at 30° edge and 14.1 m at 45° (188 cm)
- Strongest here: turn shape. Even its weakest part, float, is solid.
- 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow287 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
It doesn’t suit
- 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers797 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Carve radius about 17.3 m at 30° edge and 14.1 m at 45° (188 cm)
- Strongest here: edge hold. Even its weakest part, turn shape, is solid.
What the model uses
| Flex underfoot | 163 N·m²est. Flex underfoot Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Camber height | 3.5 mmest. Camber height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker | 24.0 % of lengthest. Tip rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker | 12.3 % of lengthest. Tail rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker height | 17.3 mmest. Tip rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker height | 7.7 mmest. Tail rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Mount point offset | -6.7 cmest. Mount point offset Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
Made of
| Core | ultra-light cedar wood/ glued strips / knot-free |
|---|---|
| Base | Nano-highspeed racing base, HRC 38 steel edges |
| Maker's description | Surface: cords one-directional, in torsion area carbon fibres one-directional / wound Core: ultra-light cedar wood/ glued strips / knot-free, Dyneema ® , UD carbon fibers in various directions, rubber 0.2 mm bottom chord, rubber 0.2 mm upper chord / Titanal / reinforced binding screw thread Base: Nano-highspeed racing base, HRC 38 steel edges |
Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.
What reviewers say
No reviews indexed yet for this ski. We read Realskiers (opens in a new tab), Ski Canada Magazine (opens in a new tab) and SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab); check their sites directly.
Compare with…
- Zai Laisa vs Faction Dancer 99 (side by side for your setup)
- Zai Laisa vs Faction Dancer 99 SYS (side by side for your setup)
- Zai Laisa vs Faction Dancer 99 TI (side by side for your setup)
Get more help
Before you buy
Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.
- ReviewsReviews from Realskiers, Ski Canada Magazine, SkiEssentialsWe hold no review of this ski yet. Full reviews are with the publications:
- ProductComingWhere to buyNo shops linked yet. We list shops once they send us stock and prices.
- CompareEdge Lab toolCompare with Faction Dancer 99Side by side in the Lab: same skier, same snow.
Where to buy
No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.
Where these numbers come fromzai.ch, edgelab.ski, read 15 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours
- zai Laisa - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer (read 15 Oct 2026)
- Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. “from” marks a number the maker does not publish that another source does (a retailer, or an earlier season of the same ski).