Skip to content
Edge LabSign in
Völkl

All-mountain · Tip rocker

Völkl Rise Above 88 2026

Völkl Rise Above 88 2026 top sheet, image © Völkl
image © Völkl
Category
All-mountain
Profile
Tip rocker
Lengths
156 · 163 · 170 · 177 · 184 cm
Tip / waist / tail
131 / 88 / 111 mm
Radius
17.0 m at 177 cm
Weight
1,280 g per ski at 177 cm
Core
Hybrid Multilayer Woodcore 1
Metal
not stated
Carbon
not stated
Sidewall
not stated
Base
Base P-Tex 2100
RRP
US$419.99 (US brand site, read 14 Oct)
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
156 cm131.088.0111.012.0

multi-radius: (R1) 20 m, (R2) 12 m, (R3) 17 m

1,051
163 cm131.088.0111.014.0

multi-radius: (R1) 22 m, (R2) 14 m, (R3) 19 m

1,137
170 cm131.088.0111.015.0

multi-radius: (R1) 25 m, (R2) 15 m, (R3) 22 m

1,186
177 cm131.088.0111.017.0

multi-radius: (R1) 28 m, (R2) 17 m, (R3) 23 m

1,280
184 cm131.088.0111.018.0

multi-radius: (R1) 31 m, (R2) 18 m, (R3) 25 m

1,358
Völkl Rise Above 88, top view, 177 cm: tip 131 mm, waist 88 mm, tail 111 mmTAIL 111 mmWAIST 88 mmTIP 131 mm

TAIL 111 mmWAIST 88 mmTIP 131 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 17 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 14.7 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 12 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
  • Float: 41%, Sinks
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 177 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Völkl Rise Above 88 at 177 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    14.7 / 12 / 8.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (66%)
    Float, powder
    Some float (47%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    14.7 / 12 / 8.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (62%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (41%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    14.7 / 12 / 8.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (99%)
    Edge hold, ice
    Slides (59%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (37%)
The Völkl Rise Above 88 at 177 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg14.7 / 12 / 8.5 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (66%)Some float (47%)
90 kg14.7 / 12 / 8.5 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (62%)Sinks (41%)
110 kg14.7 / 12 / 8.5 mHolds well (99%)Slides (59%)Sinks (37%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Völkl Rise Above 88 at 177 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 177 cm
  • First-timer: slides (19%)
  • Beginner: slides (41%)
  • Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
  • Advanced: holds well (95%)
  • Expert: holds well (100%)
assumed intermediate: on the limit (70%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: sinks (32%)
  • Beginner: sinks (33%)
  • Intermediate: sinks (35%), assumed level
  • Advanced: sinks (38%)
  • Expert: sinks (41%)
assumed intermediate: sinks (35%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: hard (0%)
  • Beginner: manageable (59%)
  • Intermediate: easy (100%), assumed level
  • Advanced: easy (100%)
  • Expert: easy (92%)
assumed intermediate: easy (100%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

  • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers65 of 858 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 13 m at 30° edge and 10.6 m at 45° (170 cm)
    • Strongest here: turn shape. Weakest: float.

It doesn’t suit

  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain462 of 858 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 14.7 m at 30° edge and 12 m at 45° (177 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
  • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow486 of 858 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 15.6 m at 30° edge and 12.7 m at 45° (184 cm)

What the model uses

Physics inputs
Flex underfoot192 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Camber height4.6 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tip rocker19.5 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tail rocker6.9 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tip rocker height11.5 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tail rocker height2.8 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Mount point offset-7.9 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

Made of

Construction
CoreHybrid Multilayer Woodcore 1
BaseBase P-Tex 2100
Maker's descriptionHybrid Multilayer Woodcore 1, Full Sidewall ABS

Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

What reviewers say

No reviews indexed yet for this ski. We read Realskiers (opens in a new tab), Ski Canada Magazine (opens in a new tab) and SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab); check their sites directly.

Compare with…

Which second ski pairs with this?

Get more help

Before you buy

Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.

Where to buy

No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

Where these numbers come fromvolkl.com, edgelab.ski, read 14 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours

Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.