Skip to content
Edge LabSign in
Völkl

Carving · Tip rocker

Völkl Racetiger GS R + Plate 2025

Völkl Racetiger GS R + Plate 2025 top sheet, image © Völkl
image © Völkl
Category
Carving
Profile
Tip rocker
Lengths
174 · 178 · 183 · 188 cm
Tip / waist / tail
104 / 65 / 87 mm
Radius
21.0 m at 174 cm
Weight
1,700 g per ski at 174 cm
Core
beech and poplar wood core
Metal
2 metal sheets
Carbon
not stated
Sidewall
Sandwich
Base
P-Tex 4504
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

  • 174 cm

    Tip (mm)
    104.0
    Waist (mm)
    64.5
    Tail (mm)
    87.0
    Radius (m)
    21.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,700
  • 178 cm

    Tip (mm)
    104.0
    Waist (mm)
    64.5
    Tail (mm)
    86.0
    Radius (m)
    23.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,790
  • 183 cm

    Tip (mm)
    102.0
    Waist (mm)
    64.5
    Tail (mm)
    86.0
    Radius (m)
    25.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,860
  • 188 cm

    Tip (mm)
    101.0
    Waist (mm)
    64.5
    Tail (mm)
    85.0
    Radius (m)
    27.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,930
Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
174 cm104.064.587.021.01,700
178 cm104.064.586.023.01,790
183 cm102.064.586.025.01,860
188 cm101.064.585.027.01,930
Völkl Racetiger GS R + Plate, top view, 174 cm: tip 104 mm, waist 65 mm, tail 87 mmTAIL 87 mmWAIST 65 mmTIP 104 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 21 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 18.2 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 14.8 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
  • Float: 11%, Sinks
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 174 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Völkl Racetiger GS R + Plate at 174 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    18.2 / 14.8 / 10.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (75%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (11%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    18.2 / 14.8 / 10.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (72%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (11%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    18.2 / 14.8 / 10.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (70%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (11%)
The Völkl Racetiger GS R + Plate at 174 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg18.2 / 14.8 / 10.5 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (75%)Sinks (11%)
90 kg18.2 / 14.8 / 10.5 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (72%)Sinks (11%)
110 kg18.2 / 14.8 / 10.5 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (70%)Sinks (11%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Völkl Racetiger GS R + Plate at 174 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 174 cm
  • First-timer: slides (19%)
  • Beginner: slides (41%)
  • Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
  • Advanced: holds well (95%)
  • Expert: holds well (100%)
assumed intermediate: on the limit (70%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: sinks (8%)
  • Beginner: sinks (9%)
  • Intermediate: sinks (9%), assumed level
  • Advanced: sinks (10%)
  • Expert: sinks (11%)
assumed intermediate: sinks (9%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: hard (0%)
  • Beginner: hard (1%)
  • Intermediate: manageable (60%), assumed level
  • Advanced: easy (100%)
  • Expert: easy (100%)
assumed intermediate: manageable (60%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

None of the three skiers we check puts it in the top half of the catalogue.

It doesn’t suit

  • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers587 of 623 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 18.2 m at 30° edge and 14.8 m at 45° (174 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain512 of 623 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow452 of 623 skis in the catalogue for this skier.

      What the model uses

      Physics inputs
      Flex underfoot249 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Camber height7.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Tip rocker12.0 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Tail rocker6.0 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Tip rocker height4.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Tail rocker height0.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Mount point offset-7.0 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

      Made of

      Construction
      Corebeech and poplar wood core
      Metal2 metal layers
      SidewallSandwich
      BaseP-Tex 4504
      Maker's descriptionMultilayer Woodcore with beech and poplar, two-layer Full Titanal, Tailored Carbon Tips, and Full Sidewall ABS

      Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

      What reviewers say

      No published reviews of this ski yet.

      Compare with…

      Where to buy

      No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

      Where these numbers come fromvolkl.com, edgelab.ski, read 9 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours

      Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.