Skip to content
Edge LabSign in
Ski Trab

Carving

Ski Trab STELVIO FIT 78

Impression, not the real top sheet.
Category
Carving
Profile
not stated
Lengths
150 · 157 · 164 · 171 · 178 cm
Tip / waist / tail
108 / 76 / 94 mm
Radius
24.1 m at 178 cm
Weight
1,130 g per ski at 178 cm
Core
LIWOOD AIR
Metal
not stated
Carbon
Stringers
Sidewall
not stated
Base
not stated
RRP
No RRP published
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

  • 150 cm

    Tip (mm)
    108.0
    Waist (mm)
    79.0
    Tail (mm)
    94.0
    Radius (m)
    18.9
    Weight (g, per ski)
    955
  • 157 cm

    Tip (mm)
    108.0
    Waist (mm)
    79.0
    Tail (mm)
    94.0
    Radius (m)
    21.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,000
  • 164 cm

    Tip (mm)
    108.0
    Waist (mm)
    78.0
    Tail (mm)
    94.0
    Radius (m)
    21.9
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,045
  • 171 cm

    Tip (mm)
    108.0
    Waist (mm)
    76.0
    Tail (mm)
    94.0
    Radius (m)
    22.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,090
  • 178 cm

    Tip (mm)
    108.0
    Waist (mm)
    76.0
    Tail (mm)
    94.0
    Radius (m)
    24.1
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,130
Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
150 cm108.079.094.018.9955
157 cm108.079.094.021.01,000
164 cm108.078.094.021.91,045
171 cm108.076.094.022.01,090
178 cm108.076.094.024.11,130
Ski Trab STELVIO FIT 78, top view, 178 cm: tip 108 mm, waist 76 mm, tail 94 mmTAIL 94 mmWAIST 76 mmTIP 108 mm

TAIL 94 mmWAIST 76 mmTIP 108 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 24.1 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 20.9 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 17 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
  • Float: 14%, Sinks
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 178 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Ski Trab STELVIO FIT 78 at 178 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    20.9 / 17 / 12.1 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (67%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (15%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    20.9 / 17 / 12.1 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (64%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (14%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    20.9 / 17 / 12.1 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (61%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (14%)
The Ski Trab STELVIO FIT 78 at 178 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg20.9 / 17 / 12.1 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (67%)Sinks (15%)
90 kg20.9 / 17 / 12.1 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (64%)Sinks (14%)
110 kg20.9 / 17 / 12.1 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (61%)Sinks (14%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Ski Trab STELVIO FIT 78 at 178 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 178 cm
  • First-timer: slides (19%)
  • Beginner: slides (41%)
  • Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
  • Advanced: holds well (95%)
  • Expert: holds well (100%)
assumed intermediate: on the limit (70%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: sinks (11%)
  • Beginner: sinks (11%)
  • Intermediate: sinks (12%), assumed level
  • Advanced: sinks (13%)
  • Expert: sinks (14%)
assumed intermediate: sinks (12%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: hard (0%)
  • Beginner: hard (42%)
  • Intermediate: easy (90%), assumed level
  • Advanced: easy (100%)
  • Expert: easy (100%)
assumed intermediate: easy (90%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

None of the three skiers we check puts it in the top half of the catalogue.

It doesn’t suit

  • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers942 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 19.1 m at 30° edge and 15.6 m at 45° (171 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain922 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 20.9 m at 30° edge and 17 m at 45° (178 cm)
  • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow731 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.

    What the model uses

    Physics inputs
    Flex underfoot216 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Camber height6.1 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tip rocker14.8 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tail rocker6.4 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tip rocker height6.8 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tail rocker height1.1 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Mount point offset-7.4 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

    Made of

    Construction
    CoreLIWOOD AIR
    CarbonCarbon stringers
    Maker's descriptionThe Stelvio FIT is the narrowest, lightest ski in the touring line, yet strong and robust thanks to its 14-layer construction. 100% Made in Bormio. The LI-WOOD air core with carbon/fiberglass torsional reinforcement ensures excellent control in descent on hard and groomed snow.

    Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

    What reviewers say

    No reviews indexed yet for this ski. We read Realskiers (opens in a new tab), Ski Canada Magazine (opens in a new tab) and SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab); check their sites directly.

    Compare with…

    Which second ski pairs with this?

    Get more help

    Before you buy

    Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.

    Where to buy

    No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

    Where these numbers come fromskitrab.com, edgelab.ski, read 15 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours

    Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. “from” marks a number the maker does not publish that another source does (a retailer, or an earlier season of the same ski).