Carving
Salomon S/MAX 8
- Category
- Carving
- Profile
- not stated
- Lengths
- 150 · 155 · 160 · 165 · 170 · 175 cm
- Tip / waist / tail
- 121/ 72
Tip width
Source: S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon
Read: 14 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
/ 106Waist width
Source: S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon
Read: 14 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
mmTail width
Source: S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon
Read: 14 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
- Radius
- 16.0 mat 175 cm
Sidecut radius
Source: S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon
Read: 14 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
- Weight
- not stated
- Core
- Jasanová vložka
Core
Source: S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon
Read: 14 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
- Metal
- not stated
- Carbon
- not stated
- Sidewall
- Hybrid
Sidewall
Source: S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon
Read: 14 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
- Base
- not stated
- RRP
- No RRP published
- Intended ability
- not stated
Lengths and published dimensions
150 cm
150 cm
Source: S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon
Read: 14 Oct 2026
All as the maker publishes them.
- Tip (mm)
- 120.0
- Waist (mm)
- 72.0
- Tail (mm)
- 105.0
- Radius (m)
- 12.0
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
155 cm
155 cm
Source: S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon
Read: 14 Oct 2026
All as the maker publishes them.
- Tip (mm)
- 120.0
- Waist (mm)
- 72.0
- Tail (mm)
- 105.0
- Radius (m)
- 13.0
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
160 cm
160 cm
Source: S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon
Read: 14 Oct 2026
All as the maker publishes them.
- Tip (mm)
- 120.0
- Waist (mm)
- 72.0
- Tail (mm)
- 105.0
- Radius (m)
- 14.0
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
165 cm
165 cm
Source: S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon
Read: 14 Oct 2026
All as the maker publishes them.
- Tip (mm)
- 120.0
- Waist (mm)
- 72.0
- Tail (mm)
- 105.0
- Radius (m)
- 14.0
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
170 cm
170 cm
Source: S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon
Read: 14 Oct 2026
All as the maker publishes them.
- Tip (mm)
- 121.0
- Waist (mm)
- 72.0
- Tail (mm)
- 106.0
- Radius (m)
- 15.0
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
175 cm
175 cm
Source: S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon
Read: 14 Oct 2026
All as the maker publishes them.
- Tip (mm)
- 121.0
- Waist (mm)
- 72.0
- Tail (mm)
- 106.0
- Radius (m)
- 16.0
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
| Length | Tip (mm) | Waist (mm) | Tail (mm) | Radius (m) | Weight (g, per ski) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 150 cm 150 cm Source: S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon Read: 14 Oct 2026 All as the maker publishes them. | 120.0 | 72.0 | 105.0 | 12.0 | not published |
| 155 cm 155 cm Source: S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon Read: 14 Oct 2026 All as the maker publishes them. | 120.0 | 72.0 | 105.0 | 13.0 | not published |
| 160 cm 160 cm Source: S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon Read: 14 Oct 2026 All as the maker publishes them. | 120.0 | 72.0 | 105.0 | 14.0 | not published |
| 165 cm 165 cm Source: S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon Read: 14 Oct 2026 All as the maker publishes them. | 120.0 | 72.0 | 105.0 | 14.0 | not published |
| 170 cm 170 cm Source: S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon Read: 14 Oct 2026 All as the maker publishes them. | 121.0 | 72.0 | 106.0 | 15.0 | not published |
| 175 cm 175 cm Source: S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon Read: 14 Oct 2026 All as the maker publishes them. | 121.0 | 72.0 | 106.0 | 16.0 | not published |
TAIL 106 mmWAIST 72 mmTIP 121 mm
“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.
What the model says
Carve radius, to scale
- Sidecut radius: 16 m
- Carve radius at 30° edge: 13.9 m
- Carve radius at 45° edge: 11.3 m
Edge hold and float
- Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
- Float: 11%, Sinks
The Salomon S/MAX 8 at 175 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
70 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 13.9 / 11.3 / 8 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (73%)
- Float, powder
- Sinks (11%)
90 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 13.9 / 11.3 / 8 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (69%)
- Float, powder
- Sinks (11%)
110 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 13.9 / 11.3 / 8 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (67%)
- Float, powder
- Sinks (11%)
| Skier | Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edge | Edge hold, groomed | Edge hold, ice | Float, powder |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 70 kg | 13.9 / 11.3 / 8 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (73%) | Sinks (11%) |
| 90 kg | 13.9 / 11.3 / 8 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (69%) | Sinks (11%) |
| 110 kg | 13.9 / 11.3 / 8 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (67%) | Sinks (11%) |
These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).
By ability
The Salomon S/MAX 8 at 175 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.
Edge hold
On firm snow, 175 cm- First-timer: slides (19%)
- Beginner: slides (41%)
- Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
- Advanced: holds well (95%)
- Expert: holds well (100%)
Float
In soft snow- First-timer: sinks (8%)
- Beginner: sinks (9%)
- Intermediate: sinks (9%), assumed level
- Advanced: sinks (10%)
- Expert: sinks (11%)
Ease
How forgiving it is- First-timer: hard (0%)
- Beginner: hard (21%)
- Intermediate: manageable (74%), assumed level
- Advanced: easy (100%)
- Expert: easy (100%)
Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.
Who it suits
It suits
- 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers184 of 802 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Carve radius about 13 m at 30° edge and 10.6 m at 45° (170 cm)
- Strongest here: turn shape. Weakest: float.
It doesn’t suit
- 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain669 of 802 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Carve radius about 13.9 m at 30° edge and 11.3 m at 45° (175 cm)
- Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
- 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow686 of 802 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
What the model uses
| Flex underfoot | 230 N·m²est. Flex underfoot Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Camber height | 7.0 mmest. Camber height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker | 12.0 % of lengthest. Tip rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker | 6.0 % of lengthest. Tail rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker height | 4.0 mmest. Tip rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker height | 0.0 mmest. Tail rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Mount point offset | -7.0 cmest. Mount point offset Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
Made of
| Core | Jasanová vložka |
|---|---|
| Sidewall | Hybrid |
Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.
What reviewers say
No reviews indexed yet for this ski. We read Realskiers (opens in a new tab), Ski Canada Magazine (opens in a new tab) and SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab); check their sites directly.
Compare with…
- Salomon S/MAX 8 vs Atomic Cloud C9 Revoshock Light (side by side for your setup)
- Salomon S/MAX 8 vs Atomic Cloud C9 Revoshock Light + M 10 GW (side by side for your setup)
- Salomon S/MAX 8 vs Atomic Redster X5 (side by side for your setup)
Get more help
Before you buy
Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.
- ReviewsReviews from Realskiers, Ski Canada Magazine, SkiEssentialsWe hold no review of this ski yet. Full reviews are with the publications:
- ProductComingWhere to buyNo shops linked yet. We list shops once they send us stock and prices.
- CompareEdge Lab toolCompare with Atomic Cloud C9 Revoshock LightSide by side in the Lab: same skier, same snow.
Where to buy
No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.
Where these numbers come fromsalomon.com, edgelab.ski, read 14 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours
- S/MAX 8 (and M11) Unisex · Sjezdové lyže · Sjezdovka | Salomon (read 14 Oct 2026)
- Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.