Skip to content
Edge LabSign in
Folsom

All-mountain

Folsom Spar 88 2026

Impression, not the real top sheet.
Category
All-mountain
Profile
not stated
Lengths
156 · 160 · 164 · 172 · 176 · 178 · 182 · 186 · 192 cm
Tip / waist / tail
132 / 88 / 116 mm
Radius
15.0 m at 176 cm
Weight
not stated
Core
not stated
Metal
not stated
Carbon
not stated
Sidewall
not stated
Base
not stated
RRP
No RRP published
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
156 cm132.088.0116.013.0not published
160 cm132.088.0116.013.0not published
164 cm132.088.0116.013.0not published
172 cm132.088.0116.015.0not published
176 cm132.088.0116.015.0not published
178 cm132.088.0116.017.0not published
182 cm132.088.0116.017.0not published
186 cm132.088.0116.017.0not published
192 cm132.088.0116.019.0not published
Folsom Spar 88, top view, 176 cm: tip 132 mm, waist 88 mm, tail 116 mmTAIL 116 mmWAIST 88 mmTIP 132 mm

TAIL 116 mmWAIST 88 mmTIP 132 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 15 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 13 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 10.6 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
  • Float: 41%, Sinks
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 176 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Folsom Spar 88 at 176 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    13 / 10.6 / 7.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (67%)
    Float, powder
    Some float (47%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    13 / 10.6 / 7.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (63%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (41%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    13 / 10.6 / 7.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (61%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (37%)
The Folsom Spar 88 at 176 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg13 / 10.6 / 7.5 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (67%)Some float (47%)
90 kg13 / 10.6 / 7.5 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (63%)Sinks (41%)
110 kg13 / 10.6 / 7.5 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (61%)Sinks (37%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Folsom Spar 88 at 176 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 176 cm
  • First-timer: slides (19%)
  • Beginner: slides (41%)
  • Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
  • Advanced: holds well (95%)
  • Expert: holds well (100%)
assumed intermediate: on the limit (70%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: sinks (32%)
  • Beginner: sinks (33%)
  • Intermediate: sinks (35%), assumed level
  • Advanced: sinks (38%)
  • Expert: sinks (41%)
assumed intermediate: sinks (35%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: hard (0%)
  • Beginner: manageable (56%)
  • Intermediate: easy (100%), assumed level
  • Advanced: easy (100%)
  • Expert: easy (94%)
assumed intermediate: easy (100%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

  • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers65 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 13 m at 30° edge and 10.6 m at 45° (172 cm)
    • Strongest here: turn shape. Weakest: float.

It doesn’t suit

  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain565 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 13 m at 30° edge and 10.6 m at 45° (176 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
  • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow575 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 14.7 m at 30° edge and 12 m at 45° (182 cm)

What the model uses

Physics inputs
Flex underfoot192 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Camber height4.6 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tip rocker19.5 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tail rocker6.9 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tip rocker height11.5 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tail rocker height2.8 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Mount point offset-7.9 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

Made of

Construction
Maker's descriptionSTANDARD: Our award-winning demo construction, suitable for most skiers. CORE: *156-164cm: Poplar & Bamboo, *170cm +: Maple, Poplar & Bamboo. COMPOSITE: 90% Fiberglass, 10% Carbon Fiber.

Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

What reviewers say

No reviews indexed yet for this ski. We read Realskiers (opens in a new tab), Ski Canada Magazine (opens in a new tab) and SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab); check their sites directly.

Compare with…

Which second ski pairs with this?

Get more help

Before you buy

Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.

Where to buy

No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

Where these numbers come fromfolsomskis.com, edgelab.ski, read 15 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours

Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. “from” marks a number the maker does not publish that another source does (a retailer, or an earlier season of the same ski).