Skip to content
Edge LabSign in
Faction

All-mountain

Faction Prodigy 1 Capsule 2027

Faction Prodigy 1 Capsule 2027 top sheet, image © Faction
image © Faction
Category
All-mountain
Profile
not stated
Lengths
158 · 164 · 171 · 178 · 184 cm
Tip / waist / tail
120 / 88 / 112 mm
Radius
17.0 m at 178 cm
Weight
1,640 g per ski at 178 cm
Core
poplar wood and ash wood core
Metal
not stated
Carbon
not stated
Sidewall
not stated
Base
Sintered Base
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

  • 158 cm

    Tip (mm)
    120.0
    Waist (mm)
    88.0
    Tail (mm)
    112.0
    Radius (m)
    13.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,500
  • 164 cm

    Tip (mm)
    120.0
    Waist (mm)
    88.0
    Tail (mm)
    112.0
    Radius (m)
    15.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,580
  • 171 cm

    Tip (mm)
    120.0
    Waist (mm)
    88.0
    Tail (mm)
    112.0
    Radius (m)
    16.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,640
  • 178 cm

    Tip (mm)
    120.0
    Waist (mm)
    88.0
    Tail (mm)
    112.0
    Radius (m)
    17.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,640
  • 184 cm

    Tip (mm)
    120.0est.
    Waist (mm)
    88.0est.
    Tail (mm)
    112.0est.
    Radius (m)
    18.2est.
    Weight (g, per ski)
    not published
Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
158 cm120.088.0112.013.01,500
164 cm120.088.0112.015.01,580
171 cm120.088.0112.016.01,640
178 cm120.088.0112.017.01,640
184 cm120.0est.88.0est.112.0est.18.2est.not published
Faction Prodigy 1 Capsule, top view, 178 cm: tip 120 mm, waist 88 mm, tail 112 mmTAIL 112 mmWAIST 88 mmTIP 120 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 17 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 14.7 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 12 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
  • Float: 41%, Sinks
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 178 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Faction Prodigy 1 Capsule at 178 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    14.7 / 12 / 8.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (65%)
    Float, powder
    Some float (47%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    14.7 / 12 / 8.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (62%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (41%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    14.7 / 12 / 8.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (98%)
    Edge hold, ice
    Slides (59%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (37%)
The Faction Prodigy 1 Capsule at 178 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg14.7 / 12 / 8.5 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (65%)Some float (47%)
90 kg14.7 / 12 / 8.5 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (62%)Sinks (41%)
110 kg14.7 / 12 / 8.5 mHolds well (98%)Slides (59%)Sinks (37%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Faction Prodigy 1 Capsule at 178 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 178 cm
  • First-timer: slides (19%)
  • Beginner: slides (41%)
  • Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
  • Advanced: holds well (95%)
  • Expert: holds well (100%)
assumed intermediate: on the limit (70%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: sinks (32%)
  • Beginner: sinks (33%)
  • Intermediate: sinks (35%), assumed level
  • Advanced: sinks (38%)
  • Expert: sinks (41%)
assumed intermediate: sinks (35%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: hard (0%)
  • Beginner: manageable (62%)
  • Intermediate: easy (100%), assumed level
  • Advanced: easy (100%)
  • Expert: easy (91%)
assumed intermediate: easy (100%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

  • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers245 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 14.7 m at 30° edge and 12 m at 45° (178 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.

It doesn’t suit

  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain285 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 14.7 m at 30° edge and 12 m at 45° (178 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
  • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow305 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.

    What the model uses

    Physics inputs
    Flex underfoot192 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Camber height4.6 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tip rocker19.5 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tail rocker6.9 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tip rocker height11.5 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tail rocker height2.8 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Mount point offset-7.9 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

    Made of

    Construction
    Corepoplar wood and ash wood core
    BaseSintered Base
    Maker's descriptionPoplar / Ash Wood & Fiberglass Core, carbon/rubber stomp pad

    Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

    What reviewers say

    No published reviews of this ski yet.

    Compare with…

    Where to buy

    No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

    Where these numbers come fromfactionskis.com, edgelab.ski, read 9 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours