Freeride · Rocker, camber, rocker
Elan Playmaker 101 2026

- Category
- Freeride
- Profile
- Rocker, camber, rocker
- Lengths
- 164 · 172 · 180 · 188 cm
- Tip / waist / tail
- 132 / 101 / 122 mm
- Radius
- 17.0 m at 172 cm
- Weight
- 1,570 g per ski at 172 cm
- Core
- Tubelite Woodcore
- Metal
- not stated
- Carbon
- Stringers
- Sidewall
- not stated
- Base
- Sintered High Speed Gliding base
- Intended ability
- not stated
Lengths and published dimensions
164 cm
- Tip (mm)
- 132.0
- Waist (mm)
- 101.0
- Tail (mm)
- 122.0
- Radius (m)
- 16.0
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 1,515
172 cm
- Tip (mm)
- 132.0
- Waist (mm)
- 101.0
- Tail (mm)
- 122.0
- Radius (m)
- 17.0
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 1,570
180 cm
- Tip (mm)
- 132.0
- Waist (mm)
- 101.0
- Tail (mm)
- 122.0
- Radius (m)
- 18.1
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 1,685
188 cm
- Tip (mm)
- 132.0
- Waist (mm)
- 101.0
- Tail (mm)
- 122.0
- Radius (m)
- 19.5
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 1,815
| Length | Tip (mm) | Waist (mm) | Tail (mm) | Radius (m) | Weight (g, per ski) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 164 cm | 132.0 | 101.0 | 122.0 | 16.0 | 1,515 |
| 172 cm | 132.0 | 101.0 | 122.0 | 17.0 | 1,570 |
| 180 cm | 132.0 | 101.0 | 122.0 | 18.1 | 1,685 |
| 188 cm | 132.0 | 101.0 | 122.0 | 19.5 | 1,815 |
“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.
What the model says
Carve radius, to scale
- Sidecut radius: 17 m
- Carve radius at 30° edge: 14.7 m
- Carve radius at 45° edge: 12 m
Edge hold and float
- Edge hold: 99%, Holds well
- Float: 73%, Floats well
The Elan Playmaker 101 at 172 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
70 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 14.7 / 12 / 8.5 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (65%)
- Float, powder
- Floats well (85%)
90 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 14.7 / 12 / 8.5 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (99%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (60%)
- Float, powder
- Floats well (73%)
110 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 14.7 / 12 / 8.5 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (97%)
- Edge hold, ice
- Slides (57%)
- Float, powder
- Some float (66%)
| Skier | Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edge | Edge hold, groomed | Edge hold, ice | Float, powder |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 70 kg | 14.7 / 12 / 8.5 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (65%) | Floats well (85%) |
| 90 kg | 14.7 / 12 / 8.5 m | Holds well (99%) | On the limit (60%) | Floats well (73%) |
| 110 kg | 14.7 / 12 / 8.5 m | Holds well (97%) | Slides (57%) | Some float (66%) |
These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).
By ability
The Elan Playmaker 101 at 172 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.
Edge hold
On firm snow, 172 cm- First-timer: slides (19%)
- Beginner: slides (40%)
- Intermediate: on the limit (69%), assumed level
- Advanced: holds well (94%)
- Expert: holds well (99%)
Float
In soft snow- First-timer: some float (56%)
- Beginner: some float (60%)
- Intermediate: some float (63%), assumed level
- Advanced: some float (68%)
- Expert: floats well (73%)
Ease
How forgiving it is- First-timer: hard (9%)
- Beginner: manageable (76%)
- Intermediate: easy (100%), assumed level
- Advanced: easy (97%)
- Expert: easy (85%)
Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.
Who it suits
It suits
- 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers257 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Carve radius about 14.7 m at 30° edge and 12 m at 45° (172 cm)
- 1 tester within 10 kg of you rated its edge grip well
- Strongest here: edge hold. Even its weakest part, float, is solid.
- 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain124 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Built from 1 review, 0 by testers within 10 kg of you
- 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow141 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
It doesn’t suit
It lands in the top half of the catalogue for all three skiers we check.
What the model uses
| Flex underfoot | 158 N·m²est. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Camber height | 3.3 mmest. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker | 24.8 % of lengthest. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker | 13.4 % of lengthest. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker height | 18.4 mmest. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker height | 8.6 mmest. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Mount point offset | -6.4 cmest. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
Made of
| Core | Tubelite Woodcore |
|---|---|
| Carbon | Carbon stringers |
| Base | Sintered High Speed Gliding base |
| Maker's description | 360° Sidewall, Tubelite Woodcore with Carbon Rods |
Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.
What reviewers say
2024 ELAN PLAYMAKER 101 SKI REVIEW
Jeff Neagle · 8 Feb 2023 · 180 cm tested
The Elan Playmaker 101 is a twin-tip freestyle and all-mountain ski designed for playful, intuitive skiing. Featuring a lightweight core, subtle rocker profiles, and torsional rigidity, it offers quick pivoting, impressive soft-snow flotation, and catch-free rail sliding. While not built for high-speed charging or aggressive tip-driving on hard snow, it excels as an energetic, forgiving option for park laps, natural hits, and technical off-piste terrain.
“It’s a fun-loving ski, that’s for sure.” (Jeff Neagle)
Read the full review (opens in a new tab)
Compare with…
- Elan Playmaker 101 vs Elan Ripstick 100 W (side by side for your setup)
- Elan Playmaker 101 vs Elan Ripstick 102 (side by side for your setup)
- Elan Playmaker 101 vs Elan Ripstick 102 Black Edition (side by side for your setup)
Where to buy
No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.
Where these numbers come fromelansports.com, edgelab.ski, read 9 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours
- PLAYMAKER 101 - Elan Sports (read 9 Oct 2026)
- Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.