Skip to content
Edge LabSign in
Dynafit

Carving · Rocker, camber, rocker

Dynafit Blacklight 74

Impression, not the real top sheet.
Category
Carving
Profile
Rocker, camber, rocker
Lengths
158 · 165 · 172 cm
Tip / waist / tail
111 / 75 / 96 mm
Radius
18.0 m at 172 cm
Weight
1,040 g per ski at 172 cm
Core
Paulownia Speed Core
Metal
not stated
Carbon
Full carbon
Sidewall
Hybrid
Base
not stated
RRP
No RRP published
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
158 cm109.073.094.015.0930
165 cm110.074.095.016.5960
172 cm111.075.096.018.01,040
Dynafit Blacklight 74, top view, 172 cm: tip 111 mm, waist 75 mm, tail 96 mmTAIL 96 mmWAIST 75 mmTIP 111 mm

TAIL 96 mmWAIST 75 mmTIP 111 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 18 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 15.6 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 12.7 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
  • Float: 11%, Sinks
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 172 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Dynafit Blacklight 74 at 172 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    15.6 / 12.7 / 9 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (73%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (11%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    15.6 / 12.7 / 9 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (70%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (11%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    15.6 / 12.7 / 9 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (68%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (11%)
The Dynafit Blacklight 74 at 172 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg15.6 / 12.7 / 9 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (73%)Sinks (11%)
90 kg15.6 / 12.7 / 9 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (70%)Sinks (11%)
110 kg15.6 / 12.7 / 9 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (68%)Sinks (11%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Dynafit Blacklight 74 at 172 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 172 cm
  • First-timer: slides (19%)
  • Beginner: slides (41%)
  • Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
  • Advanced: holds well (95%)
  • Expert: holds well (100%)
assumed intermediate: on the limit (70%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: sinks (8%)
  • Beginner: sinks (9%)
  • Intermediate: sinks (9%), assumed level
  • Advanced: sinks (10%)
  • Expert: sinks (11%)
assumed intermediate: sinks (9%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: hard (0%)
  • Beginner: hard (4%)
  • Intermediate: manageable (62%), assumed level
  • Advanced: easy (100%)
  • Expert: easy (100%)
assumed intermediate: manageable (62%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

None of the three skiers we check puts it in the top half of the catalogue.

It doesn’t suit

  • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers740 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 15.6 m at 30° edge and 12.7 m at 45° (172 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain749 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow800 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.

      What the model uses

      Physics inputs
      Flex underfoot237 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Camber height6.7 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Tip rocker12.9 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Tail rocker6.1 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Tip rocker height4.9 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Tail rocker height0.4 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Mount point offset-7.1 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

      Made of

      Construction
      CorePaulownia Speed Core
      CarbonFull carbon
      SidewallHybrid

      Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

      What reviewers say

      No reviews indexed yet for this ski. We read Realskiers (opens in a new tab), Ski Canada Magazine (opens in a new tab) and SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab); check their sites directly.

      Compare with…

      Which second ski pairs with this?

      Get more help

      Before you buy

      Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.

      Where to buy

      No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

      Where these numbers come fromdynafit.com, edgelab.ski, read 15 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours

      Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. “from” marks a number the maker does not publish that another source does (a retailer, or an earlier season of the same ski).