Black Crows Mentis Freebird

- Category
- All-mountain
- Profile
- Tip rocker
- Lengths
- 157.1 · 164.3 · 171 · 178.2 cm
- Tip / waist / tail
- not published / 80 / not published mm
- Radius
- not stated
- Weight
- 1,075 g per ski at 178.2 cm
- Core
- paulownia
- Metal
- not stated
- Carbon
- not stated
- Sidewall
- not stated
- Base
- not stated
- RRP
- No RRP published
- Intended ability
- not stated
Lengths and published dimensions
157.1 cm
- Tip (mm)
- not published
- Waist (mm)
- 80.0
- Tail (mm)
- not published
- Radius (m)
- not published
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 900
164.3 cm
- Tip (mm)
- not published
- Waist (mm)
- 80.0
- Tail (mm)
- not published
- Radius (m)
- not published
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 975
171 cm
- Tip (mm)
- not published
- Waist (mm)
- 80.0
- Tail (mm)
- not published
- Radius (m)
- not published
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 1,000
178.2 cm
- Tip (mm)
- not published
- Waist (mm)
- 80.0
- Tail (mm)
- not published
- Radius (m)
- not published
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 1,075
| Length | Tip (mm) | Waist (mm) | Tail (mm) | Radius (m) | Weight (g, per ski) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 157.1 cm | not published | 80.0 | not published | not published | 900 |
| 164.3 cm | not published | 80.0 | not published | not published | 975 |
| 171 cm | not published | 80.0 | not published | not published | 1,000 |
| 178.2 cm | not published | 80.0 | not published | not published | 1,075 |
TAIL not publishedWAIST 80 mmTIP not published
“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.
What the model says
Not enough of this ski’s numbers are published yet to run the model.
Who it suits
It suits
None of the three skiers we check puts it in the top half of the catalogue.
It doesn’t suit
- 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers853 of 858 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Incomplete specs, so no physics model
- 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain852 of 858 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow852 of 858 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
What the model uses
| Flex underfoot | 211 N·m²est. Flex underfoot Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Camber height | 5.8 mmest. Camber height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker | 15.8 % of lengthest. Tip rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker | 6.5 % of lengthest. Tail rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker height | 7.8 mmest. Tip rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker height | 1.4 mmest. Tail rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Mount point offset | -7.5 cmest. Mount point offset Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
Made of
| Core | paulownia |
|---|---|
| Maker's description | semi-cap and cap in tip area for weight savings, lightness and handling |
Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.
What reviewers say
No reviews indexed yet for this ski. We read Realskiers (opens in a new tab), Ski Canada Magazine (opens in a new tab) and SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab); check their sites directly.
Compare with…
- Black Crows Mentis Freebird vs Blizzard Phoenix 80 TI (side by side for your setup)
- Black Crows Mentis Freebird vs Dynastar M-CROSS 80 XPRESS (side by side for your setup)
- Black Crows Mentis Freebird vs Fischer THE CURV GT 80 (side by side for your setup)
Get more help
Before you buy
Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.
- ReviewsReviews from Realskiers, Ski Canada Magazine, SkiEssentialsWe hold no review of this ski yet. Full reviews are with the publications:
- ProductComingWhere to buyNo shops linked yet. We list shops once they send us stock and prices.
- CompareEdge Lab toolCompare with Blizzard Phoenix 80 TISide by side in the Lab: same skier, same snow.
Where to buy
No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.
Where these numbers come fromblack-crows.com, edgelab.ski, read 14 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours
- Mentis Freebird - blackcrows (read 14 Oct 2026)
- Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.