Carving · Full camber
Atomic VOLANT 5000 2026
- Category
- Carving
- Profile
- Full camber
- Lengths
- 147 · 154 · 161 · 168 · 175 cm
- Tip / waist / tail
- 116 / 72 / 104 mm
- Radius
- 16.5 m at 175 cm
- Weight
- not stated
- Core
- ash and poplar
- Metal
- not stated
- Carbon
- not stated
- Sidewall
- Sandwich
- Base
- not stated
- RRP
- No RRP published
- Intended ability
- not stated
Lengths and published dimensions
147 cm
- Tip (mm)
- 109.5
- Waist (mm)
- 70.0
- Tail (mm)
- 97.0
- Radius (m)
- 12.5
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
154 cm
- Tip (mm)
- 111.0
- Waist (mm)
- 70.5
- Tail (mm)
- 98.5
- Radius (m)
- 13.5
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
161 cm
- Tip (mm)
- 112.5
- Waist (mm)
- 71.0
- Tail (mm)
- 100.0
- Radius (m)
- 14.5
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
168 cm
- Tip (mm)
- 114.5
- Waist (mm)
- 71.5
- Tail (mm)
- 102.0
- Radius (m)
- 15.5
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 2,815
175 cm
- Tip (mm)
- 116.0
- Waist (mm)
- 72.0
- Tail (mm)
- 103.5
- Radius (m)
- 16.5
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
| Length | Tip (mm) | Waist (mm) | Tail (mm) | Radius (m) | Weight (g, per ski) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 147 cm | 109.5 | 70.0 | 97.0 | 12.5 | not published |
| 154 cm | 111.0 | 70.5 | 98.5 | 13.5 | not published |
| 161 cm | 112.5 | 71.0 | 100.0 | 14.5 | not published |
| 168 cm | 114.5 | 71.5 | 102.0 | 15.5 | 2,815 |
| 175 cm | 116.0 | 72.0 | 103.5 | 16.5 | not published |
TAIL 104 mmWAIST 72 mmTIP 116 mm
“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.
What the model says
Carve radius, to scale
- Sidecut radius: 16.5 m
- Carve radius at 30° edge: 14.3 m
- Carve radius at 45° edge: 11.7 m
Edge hold and float
- Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
- Float: 11%, Sinks
The Atomic VOLANT 5000 at 175 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
70 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 14.3 / 11.7 / 8.3 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (73%)
- Float, powder
- Sinks (11%)
90 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 14.3 / 11.7 / 8.3 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (69%)
- Float, powder
- Sinks (11%)
110 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 14.3 / 11.7 / 8.3 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (67%)
- Float, powder
- Sinks (11%)
| Skier | Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edge | Edge hold, groomed | Edge hold, ice | Float, powder |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 70 kg | 14.3 / 11.7 / 8.3 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (73%) | Sinks (11%) |
| 90 kg | 14.3 / 11.7 / 8.3 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (69%) | Sinks (11%) |
| 110 kg | 14.3 / 11.7 / 8.3 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (67%) | Sinks (11%) |
These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).
By ability
The Atomic VOLANT 5000 at 175 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.
Edge hold
On firm snow, 175 cm- First-timer: slides (19%)
- Beginner: slides (41%)
- Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
- Advanced: holds well (95%)
- Expert: holds well (100%)
Float
In soft snow- First-timer: sinks (8%)
- Beginner: sinks (9%)
- Intermediate: sinks (9%), assumed level
- Advanced: sinks (10%)
- Expert: sinks (11%)
Ease
How forgiving it is- First-timer: hard (0%)
- Beginner: hard (21%)
- Intermediate: manageable (74%), assumed level
- Advanced: easy (100%)
- Expert: easy (100%)
Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.
Who it suits
It suits
- 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers258 of 802 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Carve radius about 13.4 m at 30° edge and 11 m at 45° (168 cm)
- Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
It doesn’t suit
- 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain649 of 802 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Carve radius about 14.3 m at 30° edge and 11.7 m at 45° (175 cm)
- Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
- 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow668 of 802 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
What the model uses
| Flex underfoot | 230 N·m²est. Flex underfoot Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Camber height | 7.0 mmest. Camber height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker | 12.0 % of lengthest. Tip rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker | 6.0 % of lengthest. Tail rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker height | 4.0 mmest. Tip rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker height | 0.0 mmest. Tail rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Mount point offset | -7.0 cmest. Mount point offset Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
Made of
| Core | ash and poplar |
|---|---|
| Sidewall | Sandwich |
| Maker's description | The stainless-steel top sheet with laser engraving works together with Full Sidewall Sandwich construction, blending durability and an enduring aesthetic. Two layers of steel in the ski’s construction provide exceptional edge grip, added torsional stiffness, and smooth power transmission – all while keeping weight in check. The result: confident turn initiation and stable performance across a variety of piste conditions. Inside, a Power Woodcore made of dynamic ash and poplar adds a ton of stability and dampens vibrations at speed. |
Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.
What reviewers say
No reviews indexed yet for this ski. We read Realskiers (opens in a new tab), Ski Canada Magazine (opens in a new tab) and SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab); check their sites directly.
Compare with…
- Atomic VOLANT 5000 vs Atomic Cloud C9 Revoshock Light (side by side for your setup)
- Atomic VOLANT 5000 vs Atomic Cloud C9 Revoshock Light + M 10 GW (side by side for your setup)
- Atomic VOLANT 5000 vs Atomic Redster X5 (side by side for your setup)
Get more help
Before you buy
Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.
- ReviewsReviews from Realskiers, Ski Canada Magazine, SkiEssentialsWe hold no review of this ski yet. Full reviews are with the publications:
- ProductComingWhere to buyNo shops linked yet. We list shops once they send us stock and prices.
- CompareEdge Lab toolCompare with Atomic Cloud C9 Revoshock LightSide by side in the Lab: same skier, same snow.
Where to buy
No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.
Where these numbers come fromatomic.com, edgelab.ski, read 14 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours
- VOLANT 5000 + MI 12 GW - Atomic (read 14 Oct 2026)
- Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.