Skip to content
Edge LabSign in
Atomic

All-mountain · Rocker, camber, rocker

Atomic Maven 86 C

Atomic Maven 86 C top sheet, image © Atomic
image © Atomic
Category
All-mountain
Profile
Rocker, camber, rocker
Lengths
147 · 153 · 159 · 165 cm
Tip / waist / tail
121 / 88 / 106 mm
Radius
15.5 m at 165 cm
Weight
1,400 g per ski at 165 cm
Core
Poplar wood core
Metal
not stated
Carbon
Stringers
Sidewall
not stated
Base
not stated
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

  • 147 cm

    Tip (mm)
    115.0
    Waist (mm)
    86.0
    Tail (mm)
    100.0
    Radius (m)
    14.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    not published
  • 153 cm

    Tip (mm)
    117.0
    Waist (mm)
    86.5
    Tail (mm)
    102.0
    Radius (m)
    14.5
    Weight (g, per ski)
    not published
  • 159 cm

    Tip (mm)
    119.0
    Waist (mm)
    87.0
    Tail (mm)
    104.0
    Radius (m)
    15.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    not published
  • 165 cm

    Tip (mm)
    121.0
    Waist (mm)
    87.5
    Tail (mm)
    106.0
    Radius (m)
    15.5
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,400
Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
147 cm115.086.0100.014.0not published
153 cm117.086.5102.014.5not published
159 cm119.087.0104.015.0not published
165 cm121.087.5106.015.51,400
Atomic Maven 86 C, top view, 165 cm: tip 121 mm, waist 88 mm, tail 106 mmTAIL 106 mmWAIST 88 mmTIP 121 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 15.5 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 13.4 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 11 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
  • Float: 40%, Sinks
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 165 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Atomic Maven 86 C at 165 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    13.4 / 11 / 7.8 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (71%)
    Float, powder
    Some float (45%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    13.4 / 11 / 7.8 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (68%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (40%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    13.4 / 11 / 7.8 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (66%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (36%)
The Atomic Maven 86 C at 165 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg13.4 / 11 / 7.8 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (71%)Some float (45%)
90 kg13.4 / 11 / 7.8 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (68%)Sinks (40%)
110 kg13.4 / 11 / 7.8 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (66%)Sinks (36%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Atomic Maven 86 C at 165 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 165 cm
  • First-timer: slides (19%)
  • Beginner: slides (41%)
  • Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
  • Advanced: holds well (95%)
  • Expert: holds well (100%)
assumed intermediate: on the limit (70%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: sinks (31%)
  • Beginner: sinks (33%)
  • Intermediate: sinks (34%), assumed level
  • Advanced: sinks (37%)
  • Expert: sinks (40%)
assumed intermediate: sinks (34%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: hard (0%)
  • Beginner: hard (18%)
  • Intermediate: manageable (72%), assumed level
  • Advanced: easy (100%)
  • Expert: easy (100%)
assumed intermediate: manageable (72%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

  • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers73 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 13.4 m at 30° edge and 11 m at 45° (165 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.

It doesn’t suit

  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain318 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 13.4 m at 30° edge and 11 m at 45° (165 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
  • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow327 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.

    What the model uses

    Physics inputs
    Flex underfoot196 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Camber height4.9 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tip rocker18.8 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tail rocker6.9 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tip rocker height10.8 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tail rocker height2.6 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Mount point offset-7.9 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

    Made of

    Construction
    CorePoplar wood core
    CarbonCarbon stringers
    Maker's descriptionLight Woodcore (poplar) with Carbon Backbone

    Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

    What reviewers say

    No published reviews of this ski yet.

    Compare with…

    Where to buy

    No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

    Where these numbers come fromatomic.com, edgelab.ski, read 9 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours

    Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.