Skip to content
Edge LabSign in
Atomic

Carving · Tip rocker

Atomic Backland 65 UL

Atomic Backland 65 UL top sheet, image © Atomic
image © Atomic
Category
Carving
Profile
Tip rocker
Lengths
151 · 161 cm
Tip / waist / tail
93 / 65 / 76 mm
Radius
24.0 m at 161 cm
Weight
670 g per ski at 161 cm
Core
poplar and caruba
Metal
not stated
Carbon
Stringers
Sidewall
Cap
Base
not stated
RRP
US$970 (US brand site, read 14 Oct)
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

  • 151 cm

    Tip (mm)
    93.0
    Waist (mm)
    65.0
    Tail (mm)
    75.5
    Radius (m)
    24.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    not published
  • 161 cm

    Tip (mm)
    93.0
    Waist (mm)
    65.0
    Tail (mm)
    75.5
    Radius (m)
    24.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    670
Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
151 cm93.065.075.524.0not published
161 cm93.065.075.524.0670
Atomic Backland 65 UL, top view, 161 cm: tip 93 mm, waist 65 mm, tail 76 mmTAIL 76 mmWAIST 65 mmTIP 93 mm

TAIL 76 mmWAIST 65 mmTIP 93 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 24 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 20.8 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 17 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
  • Float: 11%, Sinks
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 161 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Atomic Backland 65 UL at 161 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    20.8 / 17 / 12 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (79%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (11%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    20.8 / 17 / 12 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (76%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (11%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    20.8 / 17 / 12 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (74%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (11%)
The Atomic Backland 65 UL at 161 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg20.8 / 17 / 12 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (79%)Sinks (11%)
90 kg20.8 / 17 / 12 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (76%)Sinks (11%)
110 kg20.8 / 17 / 12 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (74%)Sinks (11%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Atomic Backland 65 UL at 161 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 161 cm
  • First-timer: slides (19%)
  • Beginner: slides (41%)
  • Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
  • Advanced: holds well (95%)
  • Expert: holds well (100%)
assumed intermediate: on the limit (70%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: sinks (8%)
  • Beginner: sinks (9%)
  • Intermediate: sinks (9%), assumed level
  • Advanced: sinks (10%)
  • Expert: sinks (11%)
assumed intermediate: sinks (9%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: hard (0%)
  • Beginner: hard (0%)
  • Intermediate: hard (33%), assumed level
  • Advanced: easy (83%)
  • Expert: easy (100%)
assumed intermediate: hard (33%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

None of the three skiers we check puts it in the top half of the catalogue.

It doesn’t suit

  • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers823 of 858 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 20.8 m at 30° edge and 17 m at 45° (161 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain815 of 858 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow655 of 858 skis in the catalogue for this skier.

      What the model uses

      Physics inputs
      Flex underfoot230 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Camber height7.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Tip rocker12.0 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Tail rocker6.0 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Tip rocker height4.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Tail rocker height0.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Mount point offset-7.0 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

      Made of

      Construction
      Corepoplar and caruba
      CarbonCarbon stringers
      FibreglassOther layup
      SidewallCap
      Maker's descriptionUltra Light Woodcore (poplar and caruba) with Carbon Fiberglass and Carbon Backbone

      Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

      What reviewers say

      No reviews indexed yet for this ski. We read Realskiers (opens in a new tab), Ski Canada Magazine (opens in a new tab) and SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab); check their sites directly.

      Compare with…

      Which second ski pairs with this?

      Get more help

      Before you buy

      Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.

      Where to buy

      No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

      Where these numbers come fromatomic.com, edgelab.ski, read 14 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours

      Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.