Carving
Zai Wood Smoked Oak
- Category
- Carving
- Profile
- not stated
- Lengths
- 155 · 166 · 174 cm
- Tip / waist / tail
- 130/ 80
Tip width
Source: zai Wood Smoked Oak - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
/ 110Waist width
Source: zai Wood Smoked Oak - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
mmTail width
Source: zai Wood Smoked Oak - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
- Radius
- 19.2 mest.at 174 cm
Sidecut radius
Read: 15 Oct 2026
Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours.
- Weight
- not stated
- Core
- not stated
- Metal
- not stated
- Carbon
- not stated
- Sidewall
- not stated
- Base
- not stated
- RRP
- No RRP published
- Intended ability
- not stated
Lengths and published dimensions
155 cm
155 cm
Source: zai Wood Smoked Oak - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
All as the maker publishes them.
- Tip (mm)
- 119.0
- Waist (mm)
- 72.0
- Tail (mm)
- 98.0
- Radius (m)
- 16.0
multi-radius: 7/9 m / 16 m / 14 m
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
166 cm
166 cm
Source: zai Wood Smoked Oak - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
All as the maker publishes them.
- Tip (mm)
- 123.0
- Waist (mm)
- 74.0
- Tail (mm)
- 100.0
- Radius (m)
- 17.5
multi-radius: 8/9 m / 17.5 m / 15,3 m
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
174 cm
174 cm
Source: zai Wood Smoked Oak - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
For: tip, waist, tail
Read: 15 Oct 2026
For: radius
Estimated, ours (the maker does not publish): radius.
- Tip (mm)
- 130.0
- Waist (mm)
- 80.0
- Tail (mm)
- 110.0
- Radius (m)
- 19.2est.
multi-radius: 8/9 m / 16/19 m / 15 m
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
| Length | Tip (mm) | Waist (mm) | Tail (mm) | Radius (m) | Weight (g, per ski) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 155 cm 155 cm Source: zai Wood Smoked Oak - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer Read: 15 Oct 2026 All as the maker publishes them. | 119.0 | 72.0 | 98.0 | 16.0 multi-radius: 7/9 m / 16 m / 14 m | not published |
| 166 cm 166 cm Source: zai Wood Smoked Oak - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer Read: 15 Oct 2026 All as the maker publishes them. | 123.0 | 74.0 | 100.0 | 17.5 multi-radius: 8/9 m / 17.5 m / 15,3 m | not published |
| 174 cm 174 cm Source: zai Wood Smoked Oak - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer Read: 15 Oct 2026 For: tip, waist, tail Read: 15 Oct 2026 For: radius Estimated, ours (the maker does not publish): radius. | 130.0 | 80.0 | 110.0 | 19.2est. multi-radius: 8/9 m / 16/19 m / 15 m | not published |
TAIL 110 mmWAIST 80 mmTIP 130 mm
“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.
What the model says
Carve radius, to scale
- Sidecut radius: 19.227391493685584 m (est.)
- Carve radius at 30° edge: 16.7 m
- Carve radius at 45° edge: 13.6 m
Edge hold and float
- Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
- Float: 21%, Sinks
The Zai Wood Smoked Oak at 174 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
70 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 16.7 / 13.6 / 9.6 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (70%)
- Float, powder
- Sinks (23%)
90 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 16.7 / 13.6 / 9.6 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (67%)
- Float, powder
- Sinks (21%)
110 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 16.7 / 13.6 / 9.6 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (65%)
- Float, powder
- Sinks (19%)
| Skier | Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edge | Edge hold, groomed | Edge hold, ice | Float, powder |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 70 kg | 16.7 / 13.6 / 9.6 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (70%) | Sinks (23%) |
| 90 kg | 16.7 / 13.6 / 9.6 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (67%) | Sinks (21%) |
| 110 kg | 16.7 / 13.6 / 9.6 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (65%) | Sinks (19%) |
These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).
By ability
The Zai Wood Smoked Oak at 174 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.
Edge hold
On firm snow, 174 cm- First-timer: slides (19%)
- Beginner: slides (41%)
- Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
- Advanced: holds well (95%)
- Expert: holds well (100%)
Float
In soft snow- First-timer: sinks (16%)
- Beginner: sinks (17%)
- Intermediate: sinks (18%), assumed level
- Advanced: sinks (20%)
- Expert: sinks (21%)
Ease
How forgiving it is- First-timer: hard (0%)
- Beginner: hard (21%)
- Intermediate: manageable (75%), assumed level
- Advanced: easy (100%)
- Expert: easy (100%)
Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.
Who it suits
It suits
None of the three skiers we check puts it in the top half of the catalogue.
It doesn’t suit
- 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers694 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Carve radius about 15.2 m at 30° edge and 12.4 m at 45° (166 cm)
- Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
- 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain684 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Carve radius about 16.7 m at 30° edge and 13.6 m at 45° (174 cm)
- 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow694 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
What the model uses
| Flex underfoot | 225 N·m²est. Flex underfoot Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Camber height | 6.7 mmest. Camber height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker | 12.9 % of lengthest. Tip rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker | 6.1 % of lengthest. Tail rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker height | 4.9 mmest. Tip rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker height | 0.4 mmest. Tail rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Mount point offset | -7.1 cmest. Mount point offset Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
Made of
| Maker's description | Smoked oak stands out with its easily workable, soft wood with a smart, unidirectional fiber structure. Ammonia fuming is a chemical wood finishing process that makes natural oak less brittle and more resistant. Depending on the course of the wood fibers and the chemical composition of the oak, the ammonia, that enters the wood during the process, creates individual, dark color structures. It makes each zai Wood Smoked Oak ski individual. A high-tech interior hides behind the timeless design of the exterior. The interaction of wood, steel, and fiberglass provides for effortless handling |
|---|
Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.
What reviewers say
No reviews indexed yet for this ski. We read Realskiers (opens in a new tab), Ski Canada Magazine (opens in a new tab) and SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab); check their sites directly.
Compare with…
- Zai Wood Smoked Oak vs Dynafit Blacklight 80 (side by side for your setup)
- Zai Wood Smoked Oak vs Dynafit Blacklight Pro (side by side for your setup)
- Zai Wood Smoked Oak vs Elan Ripstick T80 (side by side for your setup)
Get more help
Before you buy
Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.
- ReviewsReviews from Realskiers, Ski Canada Magazine, SkiEssentialsWe hold no review of this ski yet. Full reviews are with the publications:
- ProductComingWhere to buyNo shops linked yet. We list shops once they send us stock and prices.
- CompareEdge Lab toolCompare with Dynafit Blacklight 80Side by side in the Lab: same skier, same snow.
Where to buy
No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.
Where these numbers come fromzai.ch, edgelab.ski, read 15 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours
- zai Wood Smoked Oak - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer (read 15 Oct 2026)
- zai Wood Smoked Oak - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer (derived from the 166 cm published radius) (read 15 Oct 2026)
- Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. “from” marks a number the maker does not publish that another source does (a retailer, or an earlier season of the same ski).