Carving
Zai Onza
- Category
- Carving
- Profile
- not stated
- Lengths
- 160 · 174 cm
- Tip / waist / tail
- 130/ 80
Tip width
Source: zai Onza - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
/ 110Waist width
Source: zai Onza - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
mmTail width
Source: zai Onza - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
- Radius
- 18.9 mest.at 174 cm
Sidecut radius
Source: zai Onza - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer (derived from the 160 cm published radius)
Read: 15 Oct 2026
Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours.
- Weight
- 1,550 gper ski at 174 cm
Weight
Source: zai Onza - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
- Core
- not stated
- Metal
- not stated
- Carbon
- Full carbon
Carbon
Source: zai Onza - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
- Sidewall
- not stated
- Base
- not stated
- RRP
- No RRP published
- Intended ability
- not stated
Lengths and published dimensions
160 cm
160 cm
Source: zai Onza - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
All as the maker publishes them.
- Tip (mm)
- 122.0
- Waist (mm)
- 73.0
- Tail (mm)
- 103.0
- Radius (m)
- 16.0
multi-radius: 9 m / 16 m / 15 m
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 1,550
174 cm
174 cm
Source: zai Onza - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer
Read: 15 Oct 2026
For: tip, waist, tail, weight
Source: zai Onza - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer (derived from the 160 cm published radius)
Read: 15 Oct 2026
For: radius
Estimated, ours (the maker does not publish): radius.
- Tip (mm)
- 130.0
- Waist (mm)
- 80.0
- Tail (mm)
- 110.0
- Radius (m)
- 18.9est.
multi-radius: 8/9 m / 16/19 m / 15 m
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 1,550
| Length | Tip (mm) | Waist (mm) | Tail (mm) | Radius (m) | Weight (g, per ski) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 160 cm 160 cm Source: zai Onza - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer Read: 15 Oct 2026 All as the maker publishes them. | 122.0 | 73.0 | 103.0 | 16.0 multi-radius: 9 m / 16 m / 15 m | 1,550 |
| 174 cm 174 cm Source: zai Onza - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer Read: 15 Oct 2026 For: tip, waist, tail, weight Source: zai Onza - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer (derived from the 160 cm published radius) Read: 15 Oct 2026 For: radius Estimated, ours (the maker does not publish): radius. | 130.0 | 80.0 | 110.0 | 18.9est. multi-radius: 8/9 m / 16/19 m / 15 m | 1,550 |
TAIL 110 mmWAIST 80 mmTIP 130 mm
“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.
What the model says
Carve radius, to scale
- Sidecut radius: 18.922499999999996 m (est.)
- Carve radius at 30° edge: 16.4 m
- Carve radius at 45° edge: 13.4 m
Edge hold and float
- Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
- Float: 21%, Sinks
The Zai Onza at 174 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
70 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 16.4 / 13.4 / 9.5 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (72%)
- Float, powder
- Sinks (23%)
90 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 16.4 / 13.4 / 9.5 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (69%)
- Float, powder
- Sinks (21%)
110 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 16.4 / 13.4 / 9.5 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (66%)
- Float, powder
- Sinks (19%)
| Skier | Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edge | Edge hold, groomed | Edge hold, ice | Float, powder |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 70 kg | 16.4 / 13.4 / 9.5 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (72%) | Sinks (23%) |
| 90 kg | 16.4 / 13.4 / 9.5 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (69%) | Sinks (21%) |
| 110 kg | 16.4 / 13.4 / 9.5 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (66%) | Sinks (19%) |
These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).
By ability
The Zai Onza at 174 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.
Edge hold
On firm snow, 174 cm- First-timer: slides (19%)
- Beginner: slides (41%)
- Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
- Advanced: holds well (95%)
- Expert: holds well (100%)
Float
In soft snow- First-timer: sinks (16%)
- Beginner: sinks (17%)
- Intermediate: sinks (18%), assumed level
- Advanced: sinks (20%)
- Expert: sinks (21%)
Ease
How forgiving it is- First-timer: hard (0%)
- Beginner: hard (9%)
- Intermediate: manageable (66%), assumed level
- Advanced: easy (100%)
- Expert: easy (100%)
Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.
Who it suits
It suits
None of the three skiers we check puts it in the top half of the catalogue.
It doesn’t suit
- 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers809 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Carve radius about 16.4 m at 30° edge and 13.4 m at 45° (174 cm)
- Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
- 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain678 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow701 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
What the model uses
| Flex underfoot | 239 N·m²est. Flex underfoot Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Camber height | 6.9 mmest. Camber height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker | 12.5 % of lengthest. Tip rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker | 6.1 % of lengthest. Tail rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker height | 4.5 mmest. Tip rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker height | 0.2 mmest. Tail rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Mount point offset | -7.1 cmest. Mount point offset Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
Made of
| Carbon | Full carbon |
|---|---|
| Maker's description | The ski unites several cutting-edge technologies used by zai. Thus, the pressure transmitter made of spring steel was refined with zaiíra®, which stabilizes the ski in longitudinal and lateral direction. In combination with natural rubber, a new functional surface with a high technical performance evolved, creating a variational performance character. The inner life of the zai Onza hides numerous layers of unidirectional carbon fibres in different directions of travel. Two further absorbing layers from rubber were also inserted. |
Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.
What reviewers say
No reviews indexed yet for this ski. We read Realskiers (opens in a new tab), Ski Canada Magazine (opens in a new tab) and SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab); check their sites directly.
Compare with…
- Zai Onza vs Dynafit Blacklight 80 (side by side for your setup)
- Zai Onza vs Dynafit Blacklight Pro (side by side for your setup)
- Zai Onza vs Elan Ripstick T80 (side by side for your setup)
Get more help
Before you buy
Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.
- ReviewsReviews from Realskiers, Ski Canada Magazine, SkiEssentialsWe hold no review of this ski yet. Full reviews are with the publications:
- ProductComingWhere to buyNo shops linked yet. We list shops once they send us stock and prices.
- CompareEdge Lab toolCompare with Dynafit Blacklight 80Side by side in the Lab: same skier, same snow.
Where to buy
No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.
Where these numbers come fromzai.ch, edgelab.ski, read 15 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours
- zai Onza - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer (read 15 Oct 2026)
- zai Onza - zai: the world’s finest ski manufacturer (derived from the 160 cm published radius) (read 15 Oct 2026)
- Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. “from” marks a number the maker does not publish that another source does (a retailer, or an earlier season of the same ski).