Skip to content
Edge LabSign in
Zai

Carving

Zai Disruptor Black

Impression, not the real top sheet.
Category
Carving
Profile
not stated
Lengths
145 · 151 · 158 · 164 · 170 · 176 · 181 cm
Tip / waist / tail
121 / 71 / 106 mm
Radius
16.0 m at 176 cm
Weight
1,860 g per ski at 176 cm
Core
ash/poplar
Metal
not stated
Carbon
not stated
Sidewall
Sandwich
Base
not stated
RRP
No RRP published
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
145 cm119.071.0104.09.0

multi-radius: 9 m / 9 m / 9 m

1,495
151 cm121.071.0106.010.0

multi-radius: 10 m / 10 m / 10 m

1,580
158 cm121.071.0106.011.0

multi-radius: 11 m / 11 m / 11 m

1,630
164 cm121.071.0106.013.0

multi-radius: 13 m / 13 m / 13 m

1,680
170 cm121.071.0106.014.0

multi-radius: 14 m / 14 m / 14 m

1,810
176 cm121.071.0106.016.0

multi-radius: 16 m / 16 m / 16 m

1,860
181 cm121.071.0106.017.0

multi-radius: 17 m / 17 m / 17 m

1,910
Zai Disruptor Black, top view, 176 cm: tip 121 mm, waist 71 mm, tail 106 mmTAIL 106 mmWAIST 71 mmTIP 121 mm

TAIL 106 mmWAIST 71 mmTIP 121 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 16 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 13.9 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 11.3 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
  • Float: 11%, Sinks
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 176 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Zai Disruptor Black at 176 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    13.9 / 11.3 / 8 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (72%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (11%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    13.9 / 11.3 / 8 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (69%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (11%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    13.9 / 11.3 / 8 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (67%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (11%)
The Zai Disruptor Black at 176 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg13.9 / 11.3 / 8 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (72%)Sinks (11%)
90 kg13.9 / 11.3 / 8 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (69%)Sinks (11%)
110 kg13.9 / 11.3 / 8 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (67%)Sinks (11%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Zai Disruptor Black at 176 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 176 cm
  • First-timer: slides (19%)
  • Beginner: slides (41%)
  • Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
  • Advanced: holds well (95%)
  • Expert: holds well (100%)
assumed intermediate: on the limit (70%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: sinks (8%)
  • Beginner: sinks (9%)
  • Intermediate: sinks (9%), assumed level
  • Advanced: sinks (10%)
  • Expert: sinks (11%)
assumed intermediate: sinks (9%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: hard (0%)
  • Beginner: hard (24%)
  • Intermediate: manageable (77%), assumed level
  • Advanced: easy (100%)
  • Expert: easy (100%)
assumed intermediate: manageable (77%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

  • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers456 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 12.1 m at 30° edge and 9.9 m at 45° (170 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.

It doesn’t suit

  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain823 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 13.9 m at 30° edge and 11.3 m at 45° (176 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
  • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow819 of 1009 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 14.7 m at 30° edge and 12 m at 45° (181 cm)

What the model uses

Physics inputs
Flex underfoot230 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Camber height7.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tip rocker12.0 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tail rocker6.0 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tip rocker height4.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tail rocker height0.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Mount point offset-7.0 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

Made of

Construction
Coreash/poplar
SidewallSandwich
Maker's descriptionModels 151 and 158 cm are designed with a supple core, agile and playful. The lengths 164 and 170 cm unfold a medium hardness in the core area – agile and with a good grip. The 176 cm is considered as the harder and thus race-oriented ski – here we use, apart from a solid wood core, also thicker titanal. All models are the result of cutting-edge sandwich technology with natural rubber, ash/poplar and titanal materials.

Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

What reviewers say

No reviews indexed yet for this ski. We read Realskiers (opens in a new tab), Ski Canada Magazine (opens in a new tab) and SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab); check their sites directly.

Compare with…

Which second ski pairs with this?

Get more help

Before you buy

Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.

Where to buy

No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

Where these numbers come fromzai.ch, edgelab.ski, read 15 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours

Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. “from” marks a number the maker does not publish that another source does (a retailer, or an earlier season of the same ski).