Skip to content
Edge LabSign in
Völkl

Carving · Tip rocker

Völkl Shine SC Carbon 2027

Völkl Shine SC Carbon 2027 top sheet, image © Völkl
image © Völkl
Category
Carving
Profile
Tip rocker
Lengths
148 · 153 · 158 · 165 cm
Tip / waist / tail
125 / 69 / 103 mm
Radius
13.0 m at 165 cm
Weight
1,856 g per ski at 165 cm
Core
Multilayer Woodcore
Metal
not stated
Carbon
Stringers
Sidewall
Hybrid
Base
Base P-Tex 2100
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

  • 148 cm

    Tip (mm)
    125.0
    Waist (mm)
    69.0
    Tail (mm)
    103.0
    Radius (m)
    10.2
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,595
  • 153 cm

    Tip (mm)
    125.0
    Waist (mm)
    69.0
    Tail (mm)
    103.0
    Radius (m)
    10.9
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,682
  • 158 cm

    Tip (mm)
    125.0
    Waist (mm)
    69.0
    Tail (mm)
    103.0
    Radius (m)
    11.8
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,755
  • 165 cm

    Tip (mm)
    125.0
    Waist (mm)
    69.0
    Tail (mm)
    103.0
    Radius (m)
    13.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,856
Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
148 cm125.069.0103.010.21,595
153 cm125.069.0103.010.91,682
158 cm125.069.0103.011.81,755
165 cm125.069.0103.013.01,856
Völkl Shine SC Carbon, top view, 165 cm: tip 125 mm, waist 69 mm, tail 103 mmTAIL 103 mmWAIST 69 mmTIP 125 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 13 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 11.3 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 9.2 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
  • Float: 11%, Sinks
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 165 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Völkl Shine SC Carbon at 165 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    11.3 / 9.2 / 6.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (79%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (11%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    11.3 / 9.2 / 6.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (76%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (11%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    11.3 / 9.2 / 6.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (100%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (74%)
    Float, powder
    Sinks (11%)
The Völkl Shine SC Carbon at 165 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg11.3 / 9.2 / 6.5 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (79%)Sinks (11%)
90 kg11.3 / 9.2 / 6.5 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (76%)Sinks (11%)
110 kg11.3 / 9.2 / 6.5 mHolds well (100%)On the limit (74%)Sinks (11%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Völkl Shine SC Carbon at 165 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 165 cm
  • First-timer: slides (19%)
  • Beginner: slides (41%)
  • Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
  • Advanced: holds well (95%)
  • Expert: holds well (100%)
assumed intermediate: on the limit (70%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: sinks (8%)
  • Beginner: sinks (9%)
  • Intermediate: sinks (9%), assumed level
  • Advanced: sinks (10%)
  • Expert: sinks (11%)
assumed intermediate: sinks (9%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: hard (0%)
  • Beginner: hard (0%)
  • Intermediate: hard (46%), assumed level
  • Advanced: easy (93%)
  • Expert: easy (100%)
assumed intermediate: hard (46%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

None of the three skiers we check puts it in the top half of the catalogue.

It doesn’t suit

  • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers369 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 11.3 m at 30° edge and 9.2 m at 45° (165 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain522 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow530 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.

      What the model uses

      Physics inputs
      Flex underfoot230 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Camber height7.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Tip rocker12.0 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Tail rocker6.0 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Tip rocker height4.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Tail rocker height0.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
      Mount point offset-7.0 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

      Made of

      Construction
      CoreMultilayer Woodcore
      CarbonCarbon stringers
      FibreglassOther layup
      SidewallHybrid
      BaseBase P-Tex 2100
      Maker's descriptionMultilayer Woodcore with Titanal Band and Tailored Carbon Tips

      Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

      What reviewers say

      No published reviews of this ski yet.

      Compare with…

      Where to buy

      No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

      Where these numbers come fromvolkl.com, edgelab.ski, read 10 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours

      Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.