Carving · Rocker, camber, rocker · Women's
Völkl Shine 78 2027

- Category
- Carving
- Profile
- Rocker, camber, rocker
- Lengths
- 149 · 156 · 163 cm
- Tip / waist / tail
- 127/ 78
Tip width
Source: Völkl Shine 78 Skis | Women's All-Mountain Piste Ski
Read: 14 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
/ 106Waist width
Source: Völkl Shine 78 Skis | Women's All-Mountain Piste Ski
Read: 14 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
mmTail width
Source: Völkl Shine 78 Skis | Women's All-Mountain Piste Ski
Read: 14 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
- Radius
- 12.2 mat 163 cm
Sidecut radius
Source: Völkl Shine 78 Skis | Women's All-Mountain Piste Ski
Read: 14 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
- Weight
- 1,680 gper ski at 163 cm
Weight
Source: Völkl Shine 78 Skis | Women's All-Mountain Piste Ski
Read: 14 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
- Core
- 3D Multilayer Woodcore
Core
Source: Völkl Shine 78 Skis | Women's All-Mountain Piste Ski
Read: 14 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
- Metal
- not stated
- Carbon
- not stated
- Sidewall
- not stated
- Base
- Base P-Tex 2100
Base
Source: Völkl Shine 78 Skis | Women's All-Mountain Piste Ski
Read: 14 Oct 2026
As the maker publishes it.
- RRP
- US$999.99 (US brand site, read 14 Oct)
- Intended ability
- not stated
Lengths and published dimensions
149 cm
149 cm
Source: Völkl Shine 78 Skis | Women's All-Mountain Piste Ski
Read: 14 Oct 2026
All as the maker publishes them.
- Tip (mm)
- 127.0
- Waist (mm)
- 78.0
- Tail (mm)
- 106.0
- Radius (m)
- 9.8
multi-radius: (R1) 13.5 m, (R2) -, (R3) 9.8 m, (R4) 20.5 m
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 1,520
156 cm
156 cm
Source: Völkl Shine 78 Skis | Women's All-Mountain Piste Ski
Read: 14 Oct 2026
All as the maker publishes them.
- Tip (mm)
- 127.0
- Waist (mm)
- 78.0
- Tail (mm)
- 106.0
- Radius (m)
- 11.0
multi-radius: (R1) 15.1 m, (R2) -, (R3) 11.0 m, (R4) 22.5 m
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 1,600
163 cm
163 cm
Source: Völkl Shine 78 Skis | Women's All-Mountain Piste Ski
Read: 14 Oct 2026
All as the maker publishes them.
- Tip (mm)
- 127.0
- Waist (mm)
- 78.0
- Tail (mm)
- 106.0
- Radius (m)
- 12.2
multi-radius: (R1) 16.9 m, (R2) -, (R3) 12.2 m, (R4) 24.8 m
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 1,680
| Length | Tip (mm) | Waist (mm) | Tail (mm) | Radius (m) | Weight (g, per ski) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 149 cm 149 cm Source: Völkl Shine 78 Skis | Women's All-Mountain Piste Ski Read: 14 Oct 2026 All as the maker publishes them. | 127.0 | 78.0 | 106.0 | 9.8 multi-radius: (R1) 13.5 m, (R2) -, (R3) 9.8 m, (R4) 20.5 m | 1,520 |
| 156 cm 156 cm Source: Völkl Shine 78 Skis | Women's All-Mountain Piste Ski Read: 14 Oct 2026 All as the maker publishes them. | 127.0 | 78.0 | 106.0 | 11.0 multi-radius: (R1) 15.1 m, (R2) -, (R3) 11.0 m, (R4) 22.5 m | 1,600 |
| 163 cm 163 cm Source: Völkl Shine 78 Skis | Women's All-Mountain Piste Ski Read: 14 Oct 2026 All as the maker publishes them. | 127.0 | 78.0 | 106.0 | 12.2 multi-radius: (R1) 16.9 m, (R2) -, (R3) 12.2 m, (R4) 24.8 m | 1,680 |
TAIL 106 mmWAIST 78 mmTIP 127 mm
“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.
What the model says
Carve radius, to scale
- Sidecut radius: 12.2 m
- Carve radius at 30° edge: 10.6 m
- Carve radius at 45° edge: 8.6 m
Edge hold and float
- Edge hold: 100%, Holds well
- Float: 18%, Sinks
The Völkl Shine 78 at 163 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
70 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 10.6 / 8.6 / 6.1 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (78%)
- Float, powder
- Sinks (20%)
90 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 10.6 / 8.6 / 6.1 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (74%)
- Float, powder
- Sinks (18%)
110 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 10.6 / 8.6 / 6.1 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (100%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (72%)
- Float, powder
- Sinks (17%)
| Skier | Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edge | Edge hold, groomed | Edge hold, ice | Float, powder |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 70 kg | 10.6 / 8.6 / 6.1 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (78%) | Sinks (20%) |
| 90 kg | 10.6 / 8.6 / 6.1 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (74%) | Sinks (18%) |
| 110 kg | 10.6 / 8.6 / 6.1 m | Holds well (100%) | On the limit (72%) | Sinks (17%) |
These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).
By ability
The Völkl Shine 78 at 163 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.
Edge hold
On firm snow, 163 cm- First-timer: slides (19%)
- Beginner: slides (41%)
- Intermediate: on the limit (70%), assumed level
- Advanced: holds well (95%)
- Expert: holds well (100%)
Float
In soft snow- First-timer: sinks (14%)
- Beginner: sinks (15%)
- Intermediate: sinks (16%), assumed level
- Advanced: sinks (17%)
- Expert: sinks (18%)
Ease
How forgiving it is- First-timer: hard (0%)
- Beginner: hard (0%)
- Intermediate: manageable (51%), assumed level
- Advanced: easy (96%)
- Expert: easy (100%)
Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.
Who it suits
It suits
None of the three skiers we check puts it in the top half of the catalogue.
It doesn’t suit
- 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers604 of 858 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Carve radius about 10.6 m at 30° edge and 8.6 m at 45° (163 cm)
- Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.
- 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain745 of 858 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow731 of 858 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
What the model uses
| Flex underfoot | 216 N·m²est. Flex underfoot Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Camber height | 6.1 mmest. Camber height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker | 14.8 % of lengthest. Tip rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker | 6.4 % of lengthest. Tail rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker height | 6.8 mmest. Tip rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker height | 1.1 mmest. Tail rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Mount point offset | -7.4 cmest. Mount point offset Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
Made of
| Core | 3D Multilayer Woodcore |
|---|---|
| Fibreglass | Other layup |
| Base | Base P-Tex 2100 |
| Maker's description | 3D Multilayer Woodcore, Steel Band, 3D.GLASS, Full Sidewall ABS |
Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.
What reviewers say
No reviews indexed yet for this ski. We read Realskiers (opens in a new tab), Ski Canada Magazine (opens in a new tab) and SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab); check their sites directly.
Compare with…
- Völkl Shine 78 vs Atomic Volant 7000 (side by side for your setup)
- Völkl Shine 78 vs Dynastar M-CROSS 78 XPRESS (side by side for your setup)
- Völkl Shine 78 vs Dynastar M-CROSS W 78 XPRESS (side by side for your setup)
Get more help
Before you buy
Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.
- ReviewsReviews from Realskiers, Ski Canada Magazine, SkiEssentialsWe hold no review of this ski yet. Full reviews are with the publications:
- ProductComingWhere to buyNo shops linked yet. We list shops once they send us stock and prices.
- CompareEdge Lab toolCompare with Atomic Volant 7000Side by side in the Lab: same skier, same snow.
Where to buy
No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.
Where these numbers come fromvolkl.com, edgelab.ski, read 14 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours
- Völkl Shine 78 Skis | Women's All-Mountain Piste Ski (read 14 Oct 2026)
- Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.