Skip to content
Edge LabSign in
Faction

Powder · Rocker, camber, rocker

Faction Studio 3 2027

Faction Studio 3 2027 top sheet, image © Faction
image © Faction
Category
Powder
Profile
Rocker, camber, rocker
Lengths
165 · 172 · 178 · 184 · 190 cm
Tip / waist / tail
140 / 112 / 134 mm
Radius
19.0 m at 172 cm
Weight
1,820 g per ski at 172 cm
Core
Poplar
Metal
not stated
Carbon
Stringers
Sidewall
not stated
Base
Sintered Base
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

  • 165 cm

    Tip (mm)
    140.0
    Waist (mm)
    112.0
    Tail (mm)
    134.0
    Radius (m)
    19.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,740
  • 172 cm

    Tip (mm)
    140.0
    Waist (mm)
    112.0
    Tail (mm)
    134.0
    Radius (m)
    19.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,820
  • 178 cm

    Tip (mm)
    140.0
    Waist (mm)
    112.0
    Tail (mm)
    134.0
    Radius (m)
    20.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,900
  • 184 cm

    Tip (mm)
    140.0
    Waist (mm)
    112.0
    Tail (mm)
    134.0
    Radius (m)
    21.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,990
  • 190 cm

    Tip (mm)
    140.0
    Waist (mm)
    112.0
    Tail (mm)
    134.0
    Radius (m)
    23.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    2,080
Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
165 cm140.0112.0134.019.01,740
172 cm140.0112.0134.019.01,820
178 cm140.0112.0134.020.01,900
184 cm140.0112.0134.021.01,990
190 cm140.0112.0134.023.02,080
Faction Studio 3, top view, 172 cm: tip 140 mm, waist 112 mm, tail 134 mmTAIL 134 mmWAIST 112 mmTIP 140 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 19 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 16.5 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 13.4 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 84%, On the limit
  • Float: 99%, Floats well
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 172 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Faction Studio 3 at 172 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    16.5 / 13.4 / 9.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (87%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (61%)
    Float, powder
    Floats well (99%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    16.5 / 13.4 / 9.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    On the limit (84%)
    Edge hold, ice
    Slides (53%)
    Float, powder
    Floats well (99%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    16.5 / 13.4 / 9.5 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    On the limit (82%)
    Edge hold, ice
    Slides (48%)
    Float, powder
    Floats well (96%)
The Faction Studio 3 at 172 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg16.5 / 13.4 / 9.5 mHolds well (87%)On the limit (61%)Floats well (99%)
90 kg16.5 / 13.4 / 9.5 mOn the limit (84%)Slides (53%)Floats well (99%)
110 kg16.5 / 13.4 / 9.5 mOn the limit (82%)Slides (48%)Floats well (96%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Faction Studio 3 at 172 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 172 cm
  • First-timer: slides (16%)
  • Beginner: slides (34%)
  • Intermediate: slides (59%), assumed level
  • Advanced: on the limit (80%)
  • Expert: on the limit (84%)
assumed intermediate: slides (59%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: floats well (76%)
  • Beginner: floats well (81%)
  • Intermediate: floats well (85%), assumed level
  • Advanced: floats well (92%)
  • Expert: floats well (99%)
assumed intermediate: floats well (85%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: manageable (51%)
  • Beginner: easy (100%)
  • Intermediate: easy (100%), assumed level
  • Advanced: easy (82%)
  • Expert: manageable (72%)
assumed intermediate: easy (100%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain4 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 16.5 m at 30° edge and 13.4 m at 45° (172 cm)
    • Strongest here: float. Even its weakest part, edge hold, is solid.
  • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow29 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.

    It doesn’t suit

    • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers421 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
      • Carve radius about 16.5 m at 30° edge and 13.4 m at 45° (172 cm)
      • Strongest here: float. Even its weakest part, turn shape, is solid.

    What the model uses

    Physics inputs
    Flex underfoot127 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Camber height1.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tip rocker34.0 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tail rocker25.0 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tip rocker height28.0 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Tail rocker height15.3 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
    Mount point offset-4.7 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

    Made of

    Construction
    CorePoplar
    CarbonCarbon stringers
    BaseSintered Base
    Maker's descriptionPoplar & fiberglass core with full-length unidirectional carbon stringers and carbon/rubber stomp pads

    Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

    What reviewers say

    No published reviews of this ski yet.

    Compare with…

    Where to buy

    No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

    Where these numbers come fromfactionskis.com, edgelab.ski, read 9 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours

    Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.