Skip to content
Edge LabSign in
Faction

Freeride

Faction Prodigy 2 Capsule 2027

Faction Prodigy 2 Capsule 2027 top sheet, image © Faction
image © Faction
Category
Freeride
Profile
not stated
Lengths
159 · 165 · 171 · 177 · 183 cm
Tip / waist / tail
127 / 98 / 119 mm
Radius
18.0 m at 177 cm
Weight
1,810 g per ski at 177 cm
Core
Poplar
Metal
not stated
Carbon
not stated
Sidewall
not stated
Base
Sintered Base
Intended ability
not stated

Lengths and published dimensions

  • 159 cm

    Tip (mm)
    127.0
    Waist (mm)
    98.0
    Tail (mm)
    119.0
    Radius (m)
    12.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,590
  • 165 cm

    Tip (mm)
    127.0
    Waist (mm)
    98.0
    Tail (mm)
    119.0
    Radius (m)
    14.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,690
  • 171 cm

    Tip (mm)
    127.0
    Waist (mm)
    98.0
    Tail (mm)
    119.0
    Radius (m)
    16.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,750
  • 177 cm

    Tip (mm)
    127.0
    Waist (mm)
    98.0
    Tail (mm)
    119.0
    Radius (m)
    18.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,810
  • 183 cm

    Tip (mm)
    127.0
    Waist (mm)
    98.0
    Tail (mm)
    119.0
    Radius (m)
    20.0
    Weight (g, per ski)
    1,860
Dimensions by length
LengthTip (mm)Waist (mm)Tail (mm)Radius (m)Weight (g, per ski)
159 cm127.098.0119.012.01,590
165 cm127.098.0119.014.01,690
171 cm127.098.0119.016.01,750
177 cm127.098.0119.018.01,810
183 cm127.098.0119.020.01,860
Faction Prodigy 2 Capsule, top view, 177 cm: tip 127 mm, waist 98 mm, tail 119 mmTAIL 119 mmWAIST 98 mmTIP 127 mm

“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.

What the model says

Carve radius, to scale

  • Sidecut radius: 18 m
  • Carve radius at 30° edge: 15.6 m
  • Carve radius at 45° edge: 12.7 m
All three drawn on one scale, from the same starting point. A smaller arc is a tighter turn.

Edge hold and float

  • Edge hold: 93%, Holds well
  • Float: 66%, Some float
Ticks mark where the word changes. For 90 kg at 177 cm: hold on groomed snow, float in powder. Model figures, not measurements.

The Faction Prodigy 2 Capsule at 177 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.

  • 70 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    15.6 / 12.7 / 9 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (96%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (66%)
    Float, powder
    Floats well (76%)
  • 90 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    15.6 / 12.7 / 9 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (93%)
    Edge hold, ice
    On the limit (62%)
    Float, powder
    Some float (66%)
  • 110 kg skier

    Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
    15.6 / 12.7 / 9 m
    Edge hold, groomed
    Holds well (90%)
    Edge hold, ice
    Slides (59%)
    Float, powder
    Some float (59%)
The Faction Prodigy 2 Capsule at 177 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
SkierCarve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edgeEdge hold, groomedEdge hold, iceFloat, powder
70 kg15.6 / 12.7 / 9 mHolds well (96%)On the limit (66%)Floats well (76%)
90 kg15.6 / 12.7 / 9 mHolds well (93%)On the limit (62%)Some float (66%)
110 kg15.6 / 12.7 / 9 mHolds well (90%)Slides (59%)Some float (59%)

These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).

By ability

The Faction Prodigy 2 Capsule at 177 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.

Edge hold

On firm snow, 177 cm
  • First-timer: slides (17%)
  • Beginner: slides (38%)
  • Intermediate: on the limit (65%), assumed level
  • Advanced: holds well (88%)
  • Expert: holds well (93%)
assumed intermediate: on the limit (65%)

Float

In soft snow
  • First-timer: some float (51%)
  • Beginner: some float (54%)
  • Intermediate: some float (57%), assumed level
  • Advanced: some float (61%)
  • Expert: some float (66%)
assumed intermediate: some float (57%)

Ease

How forgiving it is
  • First-timer: hard (17%)
  • Beginner: easy (81%)
  • Intermediate: easy (100%), assumed level
  • Advanced: easy (94%)
  • Expert: easy (83%)
assumed intermediate: easy (100%)

Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.

Who it suits

It suits

  • 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain145 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 15.6 m at 30° edge and 12.7 m at 45° (177 cm)
    • Strongest here: turn shape. Even its weakest part, float, is solid.
  • 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow171 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Weakest: float.

It doesn’t suit

  • 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers322 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
    • Carve radius about 15.6 m at 30° edge and 12.7 m at 45° (177 cm)
    • Strongest here: edge hold. Even its weakest part, float, is solid.

What the model uses

Physics inputs
Flex underfoot166 N·m²est.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Camber height3.6 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tip rocker23.6 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tail rocker11.8 % of lengthest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tip rocker height16.8 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Tail rocker height7.2 mmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Mount point offset-6.8 cmest.Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)

Made of

Construction
CorePoplar
BaseSintered Base
Maker's descriptionLightweight Poplar & Fiberglass Core with Carbon and Rubber Stomp Pad

Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.

What reviewers say

No published reviews of this ski yet.

Compare with…

Where to buy

No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.

Where these numbers come fromfactionskis.com, edgelab.ski, read 9 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours

Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.