Black Crows Octo

- Category
- All-mountain
- Profile
- not stated
- Lengths
- 167.2 · 173.4 · 179.3 · 185.4 cm
- Tip / waist / tail
- not published / 84 / not published mm
- Radius
- not stated
- Weight
- 1,550 g per ski at 173.4 cm
- Core
- poplar wood
- Metal
- not stated
- Carbon
- not stated
- Sidewall
- not stated
- Base
- not stated
- RRP
- No RRP published
- Intended ability
- not stated
Lengths and published dimensions
167.2 cm
- Tip (mm)
- not published
- Waist (mm)
- 84.0
- Tail (mm)
- not published
- Radius (m)
- not published
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 1,525
173.4 cm
- Tip (mm)
- not published
- Waist (mm)
- 84.0
- Tail (mm)
- not published
- Radius (m)
- not published
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 1,550
179.3 cm
- Tip (mm)
- not published
- Waist (mm)
- 84.0
- Tail (mm)
- not published
- Radius (m)
- not published
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 1,675
185.4 cm
- Tip (mm)
- not published
- Waist (mm)
- 84.0
- Tail (mm)
- not published
- Radius (m)
- not published
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 1,825
| Length | Tip (mm) | Waist (mm) | Tail (mm) | Radius (m) | Weight (g, per ski) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 167.2 cm | not published | 84.0 | not published | not published | 1,525 |
| 173.4 cm | not published | 84.0 | not published | not published | 1,550 |
| 179.3 cm | not published | 84.0 | not published | not published | 1,675 |
| 185.4 cm | not published | 84.0 | not published | not published | 1,825 |
TAIL not publishedWAIST 84 mmTIP not published
“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.
What the model says
Not enough of this ski’s numbers are published yet to run the model.
Who it suits
It suits
None of the three skiers we check puts it in the top half of the catalogue.
It doesn’t suit
- 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers830 of 858 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Incomplete specs, so no physics model
- Built from 1 review, 0 by testers within 10 kg of you
- 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain593 of 858 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow502 of 858 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
What the model uses
| Flex underfoot | 202 N·m²est. Flex underfoot Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Camber height | 5.2 mmest. Camber height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker | 17.6 % of lengthest. Tip rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker | 6.7 % of lengthest. Tail rocker Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker height | 9.6 mmest. Tip rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker height | 2.1 mmest. Tail rocker height Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Mount point offset | -7.7 cmest. Mount point offset Source: Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) Read: 9 Oct 2026 Estimated: the maker does not publish this number, so it is ours. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
Made of
| Core | poplar wood |
|---|---|
| Fibreglass | Other layup |
| Maker's description | poplar wood and fiberglass |
Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.
What reviewers say
Reviews from SkiEssentials (opens in a new tab)
2026 Black Crows Octo Ski Review
Bob St.Pierre · 8 May 2025 · 179 cm tested
The 2026 Black Crows Octo replaces the Vertis, adopting styling cues from the Mirus Cor. Built with an accessible softer flex and minimal rocker, it provides great edge grip and effortless turn initiation at moderate speeds. While it struggles in wind-affected crud and has an upper speed limit for aggressive carvers, it excels on groomers and smooth spring slush, offering energetic short-to-medium radius carving without requiring intense physical effort.
“The ski hooks in instantly due to the longer edge and softer flex” (Bob St.Pierre)
Read the full review (opens in a new tab)From video
Black Crows Octo Ski Review
aussieskier.com · 6 Mar 2024
Reviewed as the 2024 model.
The Black Crows Octo is an 84mm-waisted all-mountain carver influenced by the Mirus Cor. Featuring a flatter tail, a more traditional mounting position, and abundant camber pop, it feels somewhat longer than its stated 14-meter turn radius. It offers an engaging on-piste carving feel without the extreme short-radius demands of the Mirus Cor, making it well-suited for skiers who want a classic carving setup with lively energy.
Watch on YouTube from 0:14 (opens in a new tab)
Compare with…
- Black Crows Octo vs Armada ARV 84 (side by side for your setup)
- Black Crows Octo vs Armada ARV 84 MADSTEEZ (side by side for your setup)
- Black Crows Octo vs Armada ARW 84 (side by side for your setup)
Get more help
Before you buy
Ordered by what fits this answer. Partner links say so on the row, and a fee never changes the order.
- ReviewsReviews from Realskiers, Ski Canada Magazine, SkiEssentialsOur summary of each, with a link to the full review.
- ProductComingWhere to buyNo shops linked yet. We list shops once they send us stock and prices.
- CompareEdge Lab toolCompare with Armada ARV 84Side by side in the Lab: same skier, same snow.
Where to buy
No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.
Where these numbers come fromblack-crows.com, edgelab.ski, read 9 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours
- Octo - blackcrows (read 9 Oct 2026)
- Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.