Powder · Rocker, camber, rocker
Atomic Backland 108 W

- Category
- Powder
- Profile
- Rocker, camber, rocker
- Lengths
- 158 · 167 · 176 cm
- Tip / waist / tail
- 134 / 109 / 123 mm
- Radius
- 17.5 m at 176 cm
- Weight
- not stated
- Core
- poplar and caruba
- Metal
- not stated
- Carbon
- not stated
- Sidewall
- not stated
- Base
- not stated
- Intended ability
- not stated
Lengths and published dimensions
158 cm
- Tip (mm)
- 130.5
- Waist (mm)
- 108.0
- Tail (mm)
- 119.5
- Radius (m)
- 14.5
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
167 cm
- Tip (mm)
- 132.0
- Waist (mm)
- 108.5
- Tail (mm)
- 121.0
- Radius (m)
- 16.0
- Weight (g, per ski)
- 1,310
176 cm
- Tip (mm)
- 133.5
- Waist (mm)
- 109.0
- Tail (mm)
- 122.5
- Radius (m)
- 17.5
- Weight (g, per ski)
- not published
| Length | Tip (mm) | Waist (mm) | Tail (mm) | Radius (m) | Weight (g, per ski) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 158 cm | 130.5 | 108.0 | 119.5 | 14.5 | not published |
| 167 cm | 132.0 | 108.5 | 121.0 | 16.0 | 1,310 |
| 176 cm | 133.5 | 109.0 | 122.5 | 17.5 | not published |
“est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours. Where each number was read is under “Where these numbers come from” at the bottom.
What the model says
Carve radius, to scale
- Sidecut radius: 17.5 m
- Carve radius at 30° edge: 15.2 m
- Carve radius at 45° edge: 12.4 m
Edge hold and float
- Edge hold: 88%, Holds well
- Float: 95%, Floats well
The Atomic Backland 108 W at 176 cm, worked out by the Edge Lab model for three skier weights.
70 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 15.2 / 12.4 / 8.8 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (92%)
- Edge hold, ice
- On the limit (64%)
- Float, powder
- Floats well (95%)
90 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 15.2 / 12.4 / 8.8 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (88%)
- Edge hold, ice
- Slides (58%)
- Float, powder
- Floats well (95%)
110 kg skier
- Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60°
- 15.2 / 12.4 / 8.8 m
- Edge hold, groomed
- Holds well (86%)
- Edge hold, ice
- Slides (53%)
- Float, powder
- Floats well (86%)
| Skier | Carve radius at 30° / 45° / 60° edge | Edge hold, groomed | Edge hold, ice | Float, powder |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 70 kg | 15.2 / 12.4 / 8.8 m | Holds well (92%) | On the limit (64%) | Floats well (95%) |
| 90 kg | 15.2 / 12.4 / 8.8 m | Holds well (88%) | Slides (58%) | Floats well (95%) |
| 110 kg | 15.2 / 12.4 / 8.8 m | Holds well (86%) | Slides (53%) | Floats well (86%) |
These are the model’s numbers, not measurements. Carve radius comes from the sidecut, so it does not change with weight; edge hold and float do. Flex and camber are our estimates (see “What the model uses” below).
By ability
The Atomic Backland 108 W at 176 cm for a 90 kg skier on groomed snow. Reviewers are mostly experts, so read the left of each band for what most skiers get.
Edge hold
On firm snow, 176 cm- First-timer: slides (17%)
- Beginner: slides (36%)
- Intermediate: on the limit (62%), assumed level
- Advanced: on the limit (84%)
- Expert: holds well (88%)
Float
In soft snow- First-timer: floats well (73%)
- Beginner: floats well (77%)
- Intermediate: floats well (82%), assumed level
- Advanced: floats well (88%)
- Expert: floats well (95%)
Ease
How forgiving it is- First-timer: manageable (50%)
- Beginner: easy (100%)
- Intermediate: easy (100%), assumed level
- Advanced: easy (82%)
- Expert: manageable (72%)
Our model, run with working assumptions about how each level skis (edge angle, speed, how much weight reaches the edge). Not measurements. The marked cell assumes an intermediate skier; compare with your own details to see your own level.
Who it suits
It suits
- 70 kg, intermediate, on groomers260 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Carve radius about 15.2 m at 30° edge and 12.4 m at 45° (176 cm)
- Strongest here: float. Even its weakest part, turn shape, is solid.
- 90 kg, advanced, all over the mountain17 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
- Turn shape, edge hold and float all score about the same for this skier.
- 110 kg, expert, off-piste in soft snow59 of 547 skis in the catalogue for this skier.
It doesn’t suit
It lands in the top half of the catalogue for all three skiers we check.
What the model uses
| Flex underfoot | 137 N·m²est. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Camber height | 1.9 mmest. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker | 30.5 % of lengthest. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker | 20.6 % of lengthest. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tip rocker height | 24.5 mmest. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Tail rocker height | 13.0 mmest. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
| Mount point offset | -5.3 cmest. | Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026) |
Made of
| Core | poplar and caruba |
|---|---|
| Maker's description | Ultra Light Woodcore (poplar and caruba) with fiberglass |
Only what the maker prints. A field left out is one the maker does not state.
What reviewers say
No published reviews of this ski yet.
Compare with…
- Atomic Backland 108 W vs Atomic BACKLAND 109 (side by side for your setup)
- Atomic Backland 108 W vs Faction La Machine 3 (side by side for your setup)
- Atomic Backland 108 W vs Armada Antimatter 108 (side by side for your setup)
Where to buy
No shops to show for this ski yet. When we list one, it appears here with the reason it was picked.
Where these numbers come fromatomic.com, edgelab.ski, read 9 Oct 2026· “est.” marks ours
- BACKLAND 108 W - Atomic (read 9 Oct 2026)
- Edge Lab archetype default (interpolated by waist) (read 9 Oct 2026)
Numbers come from the maker’s own pages, with the date we read them. “est.” marks a number the maker does not publish: ours.